Join Bridge Winners
Claim Ruling Sanity Check

West
109642
J
762
KQ52
North
AKJ
62
Q109
AJ763
East
73
KQ1098743
K5
10
South
Q85
A5
AJ843
984
W
N
E
S
4
P
P
X
P
5
P
P
P
D
1
5 South
NS: 0 EW: 0
J
2
Q
A
3
1
0
5
2
A
7
1
2
0
Q
5
3
2
1
3
0
10
K
A
6
3
4
0
J
7
9
3
3
5
0
8
4
K
3
1
6
0
J
4
Q
6
3
7
0
8
K
A
10
1
8
0
3
7
9
Q
0
8
1
9

This hand was board 13 of the Tuesday, October 6 evening Common Game, rotated here.  You can follow the play by clicking the Next button on the hand diagram.  In sum, declarer won the heart lead and went to dummy in spades to draw trump with the aid of a finesse.  He cashed two spades ending in hand, and led the 8.  West split her honors; the ace won and the ten fell.  Declarer then led a small club to the nine, won by West. 

At this point declarer claimed, showing his hand.  During the discussion that followed the defenders' hands remained hidden.  The discussion went very much like this:

West: You have a heart loser.

South:  Ooops!  You're right.  Do you have a heart to lead?

West: No, I don't

South: So I'm still taking the rest.

West: I'm leading a spade.

South: I'll trump it.

West: What about that heart loser?

North: He throws it on a club.

East: You can't tell him how to play it!

North: We need to call the director.

The director admonished North for his "explanation," and provisionally ruled that declarer would lose the heart.  North said he only spoke up because he thought it was obvious.  After consulting with an off-site director by telephone, the director confirmed the provisional ruling, which North and South did not protest or appeal.

What is the correct ruling?

Making five
Making six
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
107 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top