Join Bridge Winners
Claiming on a Finesse

West
Q752
K73
7
AK1063
North
AK104
A
K1082
8752
East
9863
Q986
J653
9
South
J
J10542
AQ94
QJ4
W
N
E
S
1
P
P
1
P
1
P
1NT
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

West led a small club and declarer won the first two tricks with black jacks. (Yes, West was asleep.  You can give dummy the 9 if you;d like.)  Hoping for an overtrick, he decided to throw West in with a club.  When the suit proved to be 5-1, he claimed, saying that he'd concede the clubs and take the rest.

East called the director and declarer stated that he'd win a major suit return and cash the rest of his winners there.  West can't have a heart void from the auction and if the Q doesn't drop, he has four spades, thus at most three diamonds, so declarer can run the suit by starting with the ace and king.

Sounds like a good claim, but did declarer have UI from the fact that East called the director?  What would be your ruling?

 

Good claim, no problem. Making three..
Ruling against declarer in a doubtful case. Down one.
Depends on declarer's skill.
Would accept the claim only in a fast pairs where we want to encourage claims even more strongly.
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
49 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top