Join Bridge Winners
Club Ruling

West
K8
A93
K95
76543
North
QJ93
J5
J10843
A2
East
74
Q108
AQ6
KQ1098
South
A10652
K7642
72
J
W
N
E
S
P
P
1
2
2NT
3
P
P
4
P
P
4
P
P
P
D
4 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

This is from a club matchpoint game.  4 was down two.  East called the director (me) at the end of the auction; North had a break in tempo before passing after West's 4 bid. 

I have no problem ruling that Pass was a logical alternative for South, to the actual 4 call.  What bothers me is that bridge logic (and weight of cards) seems to call for a double to the final contract, which would have turned a bad result into a top.  Not doubling and then asking for an adjustment seems like an inverse double-shot of some sort.  Was failing to double a "serious error" under Law 12C1(e)?  West has 1500+ points, East has 3200+.

What say you?

Result stands: East-West +100
Adjust to 4 making: East-West +130
Adjust to -130 for North-South, +100 for East-West.
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
42 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top