Join Bridge Winners
Director's ruling problem in a claim

You are called in a table after the declarer claimed in a contract of 5* on the 6th trick. The full board was:

West
KQ72
A95
AKQ63
6
North
J6
K7
J10984
Q1053
East
10984
862
752
A97
South
A53
QJ1043
KJ842
W
N
E
S
P
P
1
X
P
1
2
4
5
X
P
P
P
D
5X South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 West leads the A and declarer ruffs with the 2. He continues with low heart to the K that wins and a heart to the Q and A. West returns the K which declarer wins with the A and cashes J where the J is thrown from the table, both defenders following. At this moment, declarer plays the 3 and tables his cards stating "You will only take the A".

These cards remain when the claim was presented:

 

West
Q72
KQ63
6
North
J1098
Q1053
East
984
52
A97
South
53
104
KJ84
D

 You are called by EW as the director, you establish the facts and you need to provide a ruling. What is your decision?

The result is 5*= +750 for NS
The result is 5C*-1 -200 for EW
Other (please explain)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
98 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top