Join Bridge Winners
Does he have his bid?

Directing the finals of a Bracket I KO, I got the following call:

First, the auction:

W
N
E
S
P
P
1
1
X
2
2
P
P
3
P
3
P
5
P
5
P
6
P
P
P

As I got to the table, North was quick to tell me that he had taken some time before bidding 5 (that's always a good sign). I advised the opps to play the hand and call me back if there was a problem.

Of course, my curiosity got me in trouble once again, as I had to see the passed-hand dummy that forced slam. East made his lead and dummy tabled:

South
AKxx
Ax
AQxxxx
x

Obviously, South was a joker. I was about to walk away when North says, "So, does he have his bid?" I told him that I'm not going to make a ruling at this time, but I will look at the hand if I get called back.

North says, "Oh no. We're not going to play the hand and THEN have the opponents decide if there's damage. You need to make a ruling RIGHT NOW!" I informed him, again, that that's not how these things work, and what he described is exactly what will happen. He grumbled his unhappiness, but did proceed to play.

I was not called back to the table, and I assumed the hand had gone down. However, I did run into the opposing side later in the week. I asked them what happened on that hand and they told me they made it. When I asked why they didn't call me back, they said they decided he had his bid. :)

Disclaimer:All of the statements and opinions expressed are solely my own and do not reflect the views of the ACBL.

31 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top