Join Bridge Winners
Double UI - How Would You Rule?

West
A95
8743
J107
Q105
North
QJ72
KJ5
K6
A732
East
K86
A1092
AQ82
KJ
South
1043
Q6
9543
9864
W
N
E
S
P
1NT
X
2
P
2
P
P
P
D
2 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

An interesting ruling situation occurred in the 1st final session of a 2-day open pairs event at the Houston regional. A complicating factor was that there was a lot of commotion in the room, because the BridgeMates had just been announced as activated 3 boards into the session, so everyone was scrambling to get caught up on entering member numbers and scores. 

The effect on this hand was that East's double of North's weak NT was alerted by West, but the alert was not heard by South, who assumed the double was penalty. South's 2 therefore was intended as a rescue, showing  and another suit. West, thinking the double was Meckwell (one minor or both majors) was now able to pass. North had been futzing with entering previous scores, and wasn't sure if there had been an alert, and given 2 had different meanings depending on the double (rescue if penalty, Stayman if Meckwell), asked and received the Meckwell explanation. 

As an interesting aside, both sides now are in possession of UI: (a) East knows that West has mistaken the penalty double--which was their agreement--as Meckwell; and (b) North knows that South's 2 was probably intended as a rescue, because of not asking for an explanation (N/S assume penalty doubles and rescues apply unless alerted otherwise).

Anyhow, North now with the Meckwell explanation, responded 2 to "Stayman", which was passed out and defended well for +300 E/W. East then stated that the explanation was wrong and the director was called by North. The director recorded the details, subsequently had sidebar conversations with S and briefly N, discussed the hand with other directors, and eventually an adjusted score--I think by the head director--was made of 2 +4 by E/W for +170. We never learned the reasoning behind the ruling. At the time it seemed equitable. 

Now I wonder how you should rule. For example, if South had heard the alert and got the Meckwell explanation in time, he would have passed. Now, presumably West would bid 2. If this were taken by East as pulling the penalty double with a weak hand, would not a pass of 2 (likely result -1) be reasonable? Alternatively, if E/W can demonstrate that 2 by West is Stayman when pulling the double, would in fact the 2+4 ruling makes sense? I'm interested to know how to untangle this situation. 

31 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top