Join Bridge Winners
Extreme Bridge #11
(Page of 3)

South
10x
K
AKxx
AQJxxx
W
N
E
S
1
1
2
P
?
I didn’t record the deal, but I think the distribution and honors of the hand are right.Matchpoints. You’re playing a version of Eastern Scientific.What do you do? I’ll just continue with what happened at my table.

South
10x
K
AKxx
AQJxxx
W
N
E
S
1
1
2
P
3NT
P
P
P
So I bid 3NT. I’m not scared of a lead. After all, I do have a stopper --- fairly often in real life.Smile Plus, I might be much worse off with a lead. On a lead, it also is better to play it from my side if partner has Qxx, Jxxx, sometimes Jxx, etc. Plus, if it goes down, maybe it will be a good save! It wouldn’t be too surprising if they could make 4 or 4. It’s extremely likely that partner has fewer than 4 in the suit. That got passed out.

Then your RHO leads a low face up out of turn! I don't remember the exact card, but I recall that I thought it might be from 3 or maybe even 4. It wasn't the 2 so it could have been from a doubleton. (They weren't playing low from 2.)

Many people may know what their choices are after this egregious action, but we may as well make directors earn their money. Here’s what one of them tells you (at least if played in the ACBL).

The Five Options for a Faced Opening Lead Out of Turn (Law 54):

1. You may accept the lead from the wrong hand and see dummy before playing in proper sequence from your own hand.

2. You may accept the lead and become the dummy. (If declarer exposes one or more cards, he must spread his hand, becoming dummy).

3. You may require the lead – one time only from the proper opening leader – of the suit that was improperly led, and the penalty card is returned to the offender’s hand.

4. You may prohibit the lead – from the proper leader for as long as he holds the lead – of the suit that was improperly led, and the penalty card is returned to the offender’s hand.

5. He may leave the improperly led card on the table to remain a penalty card.Theopening leader can lead as he chooses. If the correct opening leader retains or regains the lead, however, and his partner still has the penalty card, you will, each time before the defender leads, have the choice of exercising option 3, 4 or 5.

So pick one. Then I’ll tell you what I did and the rest of what happened.

West
AJxx
AQxxxx
xx
x
North
Qx
10xx
QJxx
Kxxx
East
K9xxx
Jxx
xxx
10x
South
10x
K
AKxx
AQJxxx
W
N
E
S
1
1
2
P
D
I chose #3. Go ahead and lead a . I’m still not scared of them. After all, I still do have a stopper --- fairly often.

W led a but didn’t find the lead of the A. Naturally, lots of you would have led it.Smile Or you would have bid over 3NT. LHO played the J, and I decided to take myK, taking 11 tricks for +460.

Well, if the lead hadbeen the A,the opponents could have taken 11 tricks instead of me taking 11 tricks!Smile That lead can be wrong for EW on many layouts. Without the lead out of turn, they also could have taken 11 tricks if he had led a . However, on a low lead, if I decide W probably hasn’t underledthe AK in this situation, and I play low from dummy, RHO might go wrong. For example, if I have Jxx, playing the K would block the suit. They would get only 2 tricks instead of 4 that might be needed to beat the contract on some layouts. It’s also not necessarily right to play the K, and assuming it wins, then shift to a. If I had bid something other than 3NT, who knows what would have happened? By the way, if some pairs bid 4 of a major, and they make it, DOWN 7 undoubled for -350 is a good save! But they might go down. Of course, some pairs our way might go to 5 of a minor and be DOWN 1. But some pairs their way might go to 5 of a major, DOWN 1 or possibly more.

I prefer to take the straightforward +460! Why complicate matters unnecessarily?

Incidentally, here is Goldwater's Rule about this situation, but I decided to violate it.

https://acblstory.wordpress.com/.../acbl-bridge-beat-83.../

4 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top