Join Bridge Winners
Forensic You be the Judge

A recent thread by Art Korth detailing a psych (My apologies Art for calling you Al in a couple of replies--brain cramp) showed how things can backfire quickly. The hand brought back a painful memory for me. I used a hand from the final or semi-final of the Spring Foursomes and three people disagreed with my analysis in the thread so I figured I would raise it here.  I use the poll format because because like my action on the hand I think it was best.  So here goes.

 

W
N
E
S
P
P
1
X
1NT
2
P
2
P
2NT
P
3NT
X
P
P
XX
P
P
P

My thoughts were it was likely third in at green my partner was light or had psyched but since I had cast iron tricks in diamonds and I wanted or thought I wanted a heart lead I should double. My other thought at the time was is is ethical to pass here,  and if partner had psyched would a ruling be asked for if I passed.  We were playing four card majors and I thought 1NT was the best descriptive bid.  At the end of the hand the result was made up two for not the best score I had in a while.  My RHO was a top class player who made full use of the rules, which I have no issue with because he has a duty to his team and there is no stigma in a major event to using rules to your advantage, I asked him if I had passed would he have asked for a ruling and he saiid yes.  Max Bavin was near  by and I asked him to look at the hand and he concluded he would ruled 3NT xx plus 2. 

My question is if this had been subject to a ruling do you agree with Max?  Max had the respect of all the players and was a brilliant director in my view. 

 

Sorry forgot your hand was Axx J10x  QJxx Jxx

Agree
Disagree (please give reasons)
Other--please specify

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
48 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top