Join Bridge Winners
Fun with Law 12

West
KQ9854
2
J875
62
North
1032
Q9754
A102
84
East
7
J103
K3
AQJ10975
South
AJ6
AK86
Q964
K3
W
N
E
S
P
3
X
P
3
P
4
P
P
5
X
P
P
P
D
5X East
NS: 0 EW: 0

When East bid 5, the director was called and everyone agreed West made a slow pass over 4. Maybe she was considering a 4 call?

T1 - A

T2. to A

T3. 2nd (!).....so declarer only lost a trick in each suit for -300. If North shifts to a trump, the defense needs to be on its toes, but +500 looks likely. 

The director ruled 4= so we didn't complain. GIB makes 4, but taking 10 tricks is no small task. Only one other declarer in two sections made 4 but a a few made 10 in partscores although most made 3. There were several 300's in 5 as well. 

Does North's failure to shift to a trump constitute a serious error, so that NS keep their 300 but EW get -620?  If more pairs were going down in 4, which seems likely in a larger event, would you award a weighted score?

 

 

 

 

 

61 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top