Join Bridge Winners
General rule: Exclusion RKC or a Splinter??

Many pairs casually add Exclusion RKC onto their system without clarifying which auctions qualify as Exclusion RKC. I’ve heard people give an assortment of rules they use, such as:

  • Exclusion must be a double jump
  • Exclusion must be at the 5 level
  • Exclusion must be higher than our game contract
  • Where a splinter would be valuable, it is presumed

Unfortunately, pairs still have misunderstandings - two of which I was at the table for.


NOTE: For the purpose of this survey please assume that you do NOT play Kickback and that you do NOT play 2 as Kokish.

1)  2   2     

     2   3     



2)  P  1   P   1

     X  XX  1 3    (XX was 3-card support)

     P  4

Assuming that you play EXCLUSION RKC, how do you play the above two auctions?

Additionally, what rules do you list in your system notes?

Ironically, when I was presented with the above 2 situations I only treated 1 of them as Exclusion...BOTH of my interpretations opposite from what my partner intended!!!

Both are Exclusion RKC
Both are splinter bids
Only auction 1 is Exclusion RKC
Only auction 2 is Exclusion RKC
Other, there is always an other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top