Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule?

West
Q1072
AQ2
7
Q10873
North
A5
J10743
AQ5
A96
East
J643
K985
KJ1063
South
K98
6
9842
KJ542
W
N
E
S
 
1N
X
2
X
2N
P
P
X
P
3
P
3N
P
P
X
4
P
P
X
P
P
P
D
4X East
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

X = 4/ + 5+/, artificial.

2 call was alerted by N to E as 6+ OR balanced invitational hand, no 4 card major. 

2 call was alerted by S to W as clubs (the second option was left out).

2NT was alerted and explained as minimum on both sides, South's Pass was not alerted on both sides since it was a natural call - to play in 2NT. 

North's explanation of 2 corresponds to partnership agreement and could be read on the convention card(marked as development after 1NT opening and System On after artificial double of our 1NT opening).

4X went down 2, West has called the director after the fact not having asked for more information before moving over 3.

If South had a weak hand with clubs only (questionable from West's angle), Pass of 2NT looks a little strange and seems reasonable to expect that one asks for the meaning of it.  

Director rolled the contract back to 3 undoubled -1. North/South appealed claiming that an experienced player should be able to protect himself before making relatively important decision for the partnership. The information was available on the convention card and the development of the bidding suggested that some more questions might be in order.

 

4 X -2 the result stands.
3 -1 TD decision upheld, deposit returned.
Appeal without merit.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
44 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top