Join Bridge Winners
If you use XYZ...

Some friends of ours had a problem sequence the other day. Luckily for us, it was while we were playing against them in a swiss. They had agreed to use XYZ, so it applies in all sequences that start with 1x-1y-1z. Then 2 shows a game forcing hand, but says nothing about diamonds. 

One of them chose instead to go through 4th suit forcing, thus 1-1-1-2, which caused a problem, because his partner assumed that game forcing sequences must go through 2 here. Therefore, 2 was not a game force. They ended up stopping in a part score because of this.

So, IF you play XYZ in that sequence, how do you treat the 2 rebid? I can think of several meanings.

1. A good general rule is that any jump beyond a forcing bid is a splinter. So because 1 shows natural spades, and 2 is a game force, then 2 must be a splinter raise of hearts.

2. 2 = 4th suit forcing to game, but explicitly shows 4+ spades.

3. Since you still play 4th suit forcing, now you have two ways to make a general game force. This seems inefficient, because 2 takes up more room than 2. So while 2 is still a GF, it offers some distinction from 2.

4. You agree that XYZ applies only when z=1NT, so 2 is now necessary as 4th suit, game forcing when z was 1. Similarly, 1-1-1-2 is now the GF bid, not 2.

What do you use here?

2♠ = splinter raise of hearts
2♠ = GF, but with spades
Some other variation of game force, in which case, please explain the difference between the 4th suit and 2♢
XYZ only applies when z=1NT
Something else?
Tell me again what is XYZ and why anyone would use it?

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
20 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top