Join Bridge Winners
Insufficient Bid -- what is the correct ruling?

West
x
AJxx
9xxx
AQxx
North
AKJxx
Q10x
Jx
Jxx
East
Q10x
K9xx
Qxx
10xx
South
xxxx
xx
AK10x
Kxx
W
N
E
S
P
1
1
1
?
D

This hand was from a club duplicate, match points, in ACBL land.

What is the correct ruling on the insufficient bid?  S did not accept the insufficient bid.

The situation was made worse because before the director was called, S indicated that s/he did not accept the insufficient bid and E replaced the 1 card with a X.  The director was then called and ruled that if E replaced the insufficient bid with 2, there would be no penalty.

Is the fact that E only intended to bid 1 UI for W?  Must W bid as if E had bid 2 over 1 (showing 5+ s and at least 10 points).

W
N
E
S
P
P
P
1
1
2
3
X
3
P
P
P

I understand that the director should have been called immediately.  The players often think that they know the laws so the director is not needed.

I also do not understand why the double was ignored in the director's ruling.

I don't understand how "comparable bid" applies in these situations.  If it does.

I always appreciate the knowledge of the Bridgewinners community.  Thank you.

60 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top