Join Bridge Winners
Online Bridge Ruling: Failure to Alert and Wild Bids

West
J9654
A95
Q75
108
North
Q3
Q7
K1083
Q9632
East
A102
K108632
A
J54
South
K87
J4
J9642
AK7
W
N
E
S
1
P
1NT
X
P
2
P
3
P
4
P
P
P
D
4 East
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

The above hand came from an online team match. No bids were alerted during bidding. As the card laid, 4 happened to make. After the game NS complained about East X and 3 bids. East explained he did not see 1 bid and thought North opened 1NT, X was DONT showing one suit. Then he realized his mistake and just treated it as takeout double. How do you rule?

If X is DONT, it should be alerted. So there is a failure to alert and could be the basis for adjustment. If alert were made NS would be able to see it but West could not. A few polls were conducted for this. Players with South hand overwhelmingly passed. Players with North hand bid 3 more often than pass with correct information. A third poll showed most players with East hand would pass after West bid 2, only one player raised to 4. No one bid 3. It seemed there are a lot of possible outcomes if NS were given the correct information.

65 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top