Join Bridge Winners
Questionnable ruling

Hello all,

In a recent tournament's bracketed swiss teams event, my team voluntarily asked to be in the top bracket because we like to play against good opponents. Both vul, I held a 14 count with a 2344 distribution including 2 small spades. RHO opened 1NT 11-14, I doubled for penalty, LHO passed which was alerted and explained as forcing a redouble. Partner passed, RHO indeed XX, pass by me, 2D by LHO, not alerted, explained on partner's inquiry as showing 5+D denying any other 4+ cards suit: "had he held a two-suiter with two touching suits he would have bid the lowest suit directly over the double", RHO added as a complementary information. So partner bid 2S with KQJx, confident I had at least 3, which was passed out and went down 3 on a defensive cross-ruff because my LHO's hand was: xxxx-Kxxx-Axxx-x and the lead was the club ace. Called the director (I will not identify him for now) who said to me that "a 5-4 is a single-suiter" ("could you repeat that to me sir?") and that anyway, what happened would stand. I immediately said I was putting a protest on the hand, which he said I couldn't do. Two questions:

1) Is the ruling correct?

2) Is it true that I have no right to put a protest on the hand?


André Blanchet

1) No 2) No
1) No 2) Yes
1) Yes 2) No
1) Yes 2) Yes

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top