Join Bridge Winners
Ruling

The following hand was from a side game in Denver NABC.

West
KJ764
5
7653
972
North
Q
AQJ976
Q942
108
East
92
82
AKJ10
AKQJ6
South
A10853
K1043
8
543
W
N
E
S
P
1
2
3
P
P
4
4
P
P
P
D
4 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

By N-S agreement 3 is fit showing JS and forcing. However North forgot it, did not alert and passed. East asked North if 3 was weak and North said yes. The result was 4 made 4 when declarer managed to ruff losers from dummy.

East did not call for director immediately but called director after next board was completed, complaining she was not given correct information. Director ruled that since North failed to alert 3, South was not allowed to bid 4 over 4. The result was adjusted to 4 by East making 4.

Do you agree with director's ruling?

Director ruled correctly. The result should be adjusted to 4 by East making.
East bids 4 voluntarily. South is free to bid 4.
Adjust with split scores. EW gets 4 by E making. NS gets 4 by N making.
Others, please comment.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
113 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top