Join Bridge Winners
Ruling from the Junior Trials

In the Junior trials, the following incident occurred:

North opened 1NT, 12-14, and wrote to East (his screenmate)  that the range of the 1NT opener was 12-14.  South wrote nothing to West, and was not asked about the range.  The E-W pair were playing different methods depending on whether the opponents were playing weak NT or strong NT.  East bid something on the correct assumption that it was a weak NT.  West thought it was a strong NT, mis-interpreted his partner's bid, and E-W had a disaster due to the mixup.

Are E-W entitled to an adjustment due to South not writing down the 12-14 NT range?


Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top