Join Bridge Winners
Ruling help

West
A104
AJ642
AQJ
74
North
7652
K109
K1063
K10
East
J93
97542
Q8653
South
KQ8
Q8753
8
AJ92
W
N
E
S
P
1
1NT
X
2
P
3
?
D

When E bid 2S, W announced "transfer."

Now over 3C, N (more familiar with the opponents) asked West what types of hands East might have.  West replied that East could have a signoff in either minor.  South called the director.

Given the facts of the case, I asked South to step away from the table, and he informed me that he would have doubled 2S for the lead if he knew that the opponents might end up in diamonds.  This seemed odd to me, since HE would normally have been on lead against 3.  So I ruled that the auction should continue.  North bid 3H of course, and all passed.

Is this a case where I can roll the auction back if I determine that S's argument has merit?

107 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top