Join Bridge Winners
Some rulings questions

When playing without trays, what is the appropriate behaviour?

These examples are from yesterday:

South
Axxxx
AQxx
xx
Qx
W
N
E
S
1NT
?

You overcall 2 majors, which is alerted by your partner as and other suit (now you remember that at MPs you play that and at IMPs 2 would have been majors).

It goes (Pass) - 3 - (Pass) to me.

What I did was bid 3, bidding over 3 INV+ with .

Was this the right thing to do?

Then, 3 became contract. What is the right time to mention the irregularity?

What if it happened that it was the other way round - 2 was rightly majors by our agreements, but partner explained it the wrong way?

 

Another situation from yesterday:

South
AJxxx
Q10xxx
xxx
W
N
E
S
1
X
?

Your partner opens 1 Precision, opponent Doubles, you ask what it means and they say that they have no agreements. How are you supposed to deal with this situation?

 

Another question I have: When starting the game, I believe most of us are told that you shouldn't ask for the opponents' bids unless you need the information in this particular moment for the meaning of their bid. However, this leads to UI that you have a hand which is not suitable to interfere over the opponent's bidding. On the other hand, if you ask and the meaning is wrong you end up in a more complicated UI problem than if you haven't asked at that time where you didn't really need the information.

Good example is your opponent opening 1 which is alerted by your opponent and it is you to bid.

On the other hand, some believe that asking for a bid and then Passing would deliver UI as well.

Where does the truth lie and what is the appropriate behaviour in general?

41 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top