Join Bridge Winners
TD ruling on a freak hand

In the round-of-32 of the German cup (national KO tournament), the following freak hand caused a long discussion.

On the first table, the par contract was reached:

West
105
AQ7632
J2
K97
North
Q98732
AQ7654
2
East
KJ9
K108
AQJ8643
South
AKJ64
10854
93
105
W
N
E
S
 
2
2
X
4
P
P
5
5
P
P
6
P
6
6
X
P
P
P
D
6X North
NS: 0 EW: 0

6 doubled went down one, NS -200.

On the second table, NS had a misunderstanding (and possibly some UI issues), and the hand exploded in EW's face:

West
105
AQ7632
J2
K97
North
Q98732
AQ7654
2
East
KJ9
K108
AQJ8643
South
AKJ64
10854
93
105
W
N
E
S
 
2
3
4
X
P
4
5
P
P
5
X
5
P
P
X
XX
P
P
P
D
5XX North
NS: 0 EW: 0

A: Explained as "asking for stopper".

B: Explained as penalty double.

That was +1200 for NS, 16 IMP swing.

The round-of-32 is the last round which is played without screens. As the hand did not make a difference in a KO tournament, there was no TD ruling at the table.

How do you rule?

EDIT:

* North intended 3 as showing and a minor.

* West's 2 bid showed 9 - 12 HCP, 5 4+m or 6+ (intermediate 2-bid)

* South meant Dbl as "4 doesn't make" but in the light of North having a good hand with a long minor.

* East expected that South has the remaining honors (after the Dbl), and therefore 5 also fails with partner's 9 HCP.

* I was North on the first table (in case people wonder).

 

 

111 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top