Join Bridge Winners
TD Ruling

West
K764
J8
7642
Q52
North
J52
1096
K105
A874
East
10983
AKQ52
3
1063
South
AQ
743
AQJ98
KJ9
W
N
E
S
P
1NT
P
P
2
2
P
2NT
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

This hand was played at a major pair event in Turkey. I received many messages from people to ask this TD decision  in BW.

South /West and North/East are screen mates.

2 was alerted by 2 bidder as majors to North. It was alerted to South(declarer) as + higher suit.

Against 3 NT, West leads the 2. Declarer wins the T with his J. Goes to dummy with a diamond and plays 2nd and finesses. When this is lost to west, EW cashes 5 heart tricks for down 2.

Declarer summons the TD and explains why he took finesse, saying that he thought LHO led his singleton due to wrong explanation of 2 bid.

TD decides declarer is damaged due to explanation and adjusts the score. EW disagrees saying that the damage was caused due to wrong play and not due to explanation. EW basically says that declarer knew something did not add up, he played the way he did because nobody would have led their singleton and even if they did, East would play Q at trick 1. And opening leader would have tried to find the other suit of their pd and it was sort of double shot to play it the way he did and then call TD about it.

CC says 2 shows majors.

Do not forget the fact that this is a MATCHPOINT event and overtricks matter.

What do you think of TD ruling? 

 

EDIT: I took out the appeal part because EW did not appeal for it. It was due to my misunderstanding.

Agree with TD decision.
Disagree with TD decision
Something else (please explain)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
114 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top