Join Bridge Winners
To claim, or not To claim

Teams

This table had 6-8 minutes TD call before this happened.  And also the table had been very slow playing, and I had once before arrived to the table to ask the players to speed up. 

North came to me after the play had finished.  Not happy.  North asked me if play should stop when claim is made.  I answered yes, but if all players agree, then play can continue.

West
42
AK6
J42
KJ975
North
9863
Q732
76
832
East
AK5
1084
K98
Q1064
South
QJ107
J95
AQ1053
A
W
N
E
S
1
1
2
P
3
P
3
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT East
NS: 0 EW: 0

2 bid is 1 round forcing.

Opening lead is 10, holding the trick

Trick 2.  J, won with the A

Trick 3.  10 won with the A

Trick 3.  Q won with the K.  Throwing in dummy

This is the situation.

West
AK
J42
KJ97
North
9
Q732
76
83
East
1084
K98
Q64
South
7
J95
AQ1053
D

A brief pause by declarer trying to figure out how to steal the 9th trick.  North shows declarer his cards, telling him that he looses 1 more and he will lead  for partner to take 2 tricks with the AQ of .  North stated to me that he had made a claim, and according to the laws, then all play should stop.  North said he made a claim to speed up playing because of the table was having very slow play.

Declarer played 9, trying to fool South to play low , but South did also have the 10, so that did not work, but here something strange happened.  South played the A to the trick, and now declarer claimed 9 tricks. ( which he had now, if the remaining were 1-1)

I ruled that a claim had been made.  Contract failing 1 trick.  North had not agreed to play on, and North had described how the defence would make 3 more tricks.

Declarer appealed my ruling.

The appeal committee changed my ruling to contract making.  3NT 9 tricks.

Showing declarer the cards without his partner seeing the cards, and telling declarer how the defence takes 3 tricks is not a claim.

I think the appeal committee got it right.

N/S were very angry about the ruling.  Telling me that I should never allow an appeal, because this was a technical matter. (I do not understand the technical matter here)

And after the tournament was over, they came again to me and accused me of having robbed the victory in the tournament from them.  (witch is right because if the contract were 3NT 9 tricks, they would have been top seeded.)

125 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top