Join Bridge Winners
Trials ruling

The following ruling problem came up in the trials. How would you rule.

Keep in mind that the event is played with screens. A player would be expected to alert any non-standard partnership agreement, as opposed to the ACBL regulations about what is or is not alertable. Also, a player is totally free to ask about the meaning of a call if he is in doubt without having to worry about giving UI to his partner or to let the opponents know what the other is thinking, since the question and answer are given silently behind the screen.

North
A2
KQ82
A9
KQ1032
W
N
E
S
1
2
3
P
3NT
P
P
X
?

South and West are screenmates, North and East are screenmates.

West volunteered to South that the double means "avoid a spade lead", which was the partnership agreement.

East said nothing to North. And North acted without asking East about the meaning of the double.

There are two scenarios to consider.

1) North passes. East finds a diamond lead, hitting West with KQJ10x of diamonds and the ace of clubs. 3NT doubled is down 1. 5 would have been cold.

2) North runs to 5. This time West's diamonds are KQxxx, with South having J10xx. 5 makes, but 3NT doubled would have made 11 tricks.

How would you rule in each of these two scenarios? Obviously one of the scenarios came up in reality, but I'm not telling you which one.

99 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top