Join Bridge Winners
Tricky ruling

West
A2
AQ62
AK875
32
North
K7
K1097
962
Q1098
East
Q95
843
Q10
AKJ64
South
J108643
J5
J43
75
W
N
E
S
P
1NT
P
2
P
2NT
P
3
P
P
3
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT East
NS: 0 EW: 0

2 and 2NT were alerted, 3 was not (incorrectly).

 

Before bidding 3 South asked the meaning of 2, explained as range ask can be takeout to a minor.

Before the opening lead was faced west said that there had been an incorrect explanation. 3 was forcing and asked partner to bid a 4 card major.

South called the TD and said they had been damaged by the incorrect explanation and would not have bid 3 had they received the correct information. They claimed they had to make a protective bid because it was likely their partner had a very strong hand.

West said this could not have happened, east would not have passed had they correctly interpreted the call.

South declined to retract their final pass but claimed damage after 3NT made 11 tricks.

 

Your ruling?

Score stands
Score is adjusted to 3+2
Split score: E/W score 150, NS score -460
Something else

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
389 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top