Join Bridge Winners
UI Ruling Question

West
J6
AKQ1032
A6
Q102
North
AQ2
84
KQ52
K964
East
985
76
9843
J753
South
K10743
J95
J107
A8
W
N
E
S
1
1NT
P
2
X
2
P
P
P
D
2 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

I was West.  South said nothing about 1NT and North said nothing about 2.  Over 2, I asked South about the meaning of 1NT and was told that it was natural and strong.  I then asked North about the meaning of 2 and was told "Over strong NT, 2 is a transfer."  At this point, I doubled the 2 bid for lead direction.  North then accepted the "transfer."  At this point, East called the director and stated that he had heard N-S discussing that they play Mathe over a strong club right as we were sitting down (obviously, I didn't hear this).  North did not dispute that this was their agreement.  2 was passed out, making 3.

If it matters, N is a top-level pro (well over 10,000 masterpoints) and S is a regular client.

What should be the ruling?

EDIT: Changed answers to either 200 or 300 for E-W where applicable. Which one is academic since either would be a top.

Table result stands
Av+ for E-W / Av- for N-S
Av+ for E-W / PP or other split adjustment for N-S
Roll back to 2 S for +200/300 for E-W
Roll back to 2 S for +200/300 for E-W and PP for N-S
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
112 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top