Join Bridge Winners
Would you roll this back?

How would you rule here? 

N-S are playing precision, but are a new partnership, perhaps the first time together. South was given a set of notes outlining the agreements they will be using, but based on their conversation and South's mannerisms has not fully read them.

West
5432
Q4
K87643
9
North
QJ6
AK
AQ105
KQ107
East
87
J9632
J
85432
South
AK109
10875
92
AJ6
W
N
E
S
 
1
1
X
P
3N
P
4N
P
5
P
5N
P
6
P
6N
?
D

 

1 (alerted) precision

1 (alerted) hearts and clubs OR spades and diamonds

X (alerted) 5-7 HCP, any shape

South tanked for a while before bidding 4NT.

North's responses to 4NT and 5NT were apparently Blackwood responses.

After the bidding, it became clear that South did not know that X was described in the notes as 5-7 HCP. North affirmed that it was in the notes.

E-W made the argument that once South hears double explained as 5-7, then North Jumps to 3NT, South knows North does not have a balanced 16 count, but more likely 20+ HCP, a hand willing to try 3NT opposite a random 5-7 point hand. This seemingly makes slam quite likely in the eyes of South.

However, South is allowed to misbid. South claimed that he had doubled, unsure of the range implied, but planning on always bidding game. Does the jump to 3NT wake South up to the slam possibilities anyway, regardless of any UI from the alert?

I can see arguments for either view. Suppose South knew the implied range for X, yet chose to double anyway, giving North an opportunity to show his values?

The director rolled it back to 3NT, scoring 13 tricks.

Would you...

Allow 6NT, making 13 tricks
Roll it back into game, making 13 tricks
Allow West to shoot East, as anyone willing to bid like that should be put out if his misery
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
184 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top