Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Alex Hydes
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
lol paranoid a bit? bad players are allowed to get good results
Feb. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
south is obviously clueless. i'm not referring to the 1 club opener. i'm referring to the 3NT bid.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
otoh it's a fine slam to miss, but otoh north did too little.
Jan. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ignore
Jan. 8
Alex Hydes edited this comment Jan. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
bidding is a lot safer at imps.
Dec. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's utter tripe to say one can't double 3 after passing 1. Most people don't overcall on 4 card suits or with hands with decent suits which are otherwise below the HCP threshold for an overcall, but that's plenty to double for the lead. Still, we can't assess whether the opps would likely bid on as we haven't seen their hands. The TD did know their hands and evidently conducted a poll (we don't know how well this poll was conducted but, again, without seeing the hands we have no reason to doubt its accuracy) to see how the bidding would develop with correct alerting. Yes, you do need a poll in MI situations to arrive at a suitably weighted ruling.

As for the tournament being in Hawaii not France, that's not legally relevant. You might think that a splinter is normal and shouldn't be alerted, and you may well be right, but the ACBL has laid down regulations which say otherwise and these particular opps seemingly had no reason to doubt what they were effectively being told.

As for calling the director when the MI came to light, the player over the 3H bid couldn't have his opportunity to double back at that stage, he could only have his final pass back. Calling the director at that stage would perforce be pointless and could just result in the non-offenders giving UI or tipping declarer off as to the layout.
Dec. 4, 2018
Alex Hydes edited this comment Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
a hand with extra values that's not shapely enough to bid itself but which would be happy enough for the double to be removed. this hand is much more common and more awkward than a genuine penalty double.
Nov. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
east has an obvious 4nt bid, unless double is penalties which would be a rather unusual agreement, except at the lowest levels of the game.
Nov. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The OP made a mistake in presentation in using examples from Wikipedia. He should have restricted himself to other sources. Rightly or wrongly, Wikipedia is seen as being more copyable. No-one would suggest it's not copyright theft to copy verbatim, for example, BBC Leicester (one of the other sources in the article).
July 25, 2018
Alex Hydes edited this comment July 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
you may also want to look at this link for previous form:-

https://www.bridgeclublive.com/A/Information/Library/DOCS/News/PressRelease-01.htm

Copied here for those scared of clicking links:-

LONDON 27th February 2001

The International Online Bridge Club (Bridge Player LIVE!), Europe's foremost provider of live Internet bridge (http://www.bridgeplayer.com) was recently forced to instruct solicitors to protect its confidential, copyrighted database that had been downloaded from Online Bridge’s computer without its knowledge or consent.

IOBC are the service provider for the English Bridge Union’s (“EBU”) own Online Bridge Club (http://www.ebuonline.co.uk).

An IOBC computer was being used for a demonstration of the EBU Online Bridge Club at the EBU’s annual Summer Congress in Brighton, England last August. A third party obtained details of more than 25,000 contact addresses from this computer, without permission, and the database was stored onto floppy disk.

The disk was passed to British bridge journalist, Mark Horton, who gave the database to E-Bridge Inc, a US based competitor of IOBC. Mailings using this data were made by E-Bridge who were immediately contacted by IOBC’s solicitors to stop further activity.

E-Bridge have since signed an undertaking, without admitting liability, confirming they have stopped using the information and that it has been deleted from their computer system. E-Bridge have maintained that they did not know how the disk had been obtained.

Mr Horton, for his part, has agreed to an out of court settlement for undisclosed costs and damages.
July 23, 2018
Alex Hydes edited this comment July 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's a pathetic attitude. You do realise the aim is to win points, not post-mortems, right?
July 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
i don't have any documentation sadly. there are no convention cards in this event
March 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
well quite. i personally wouldn't force to the 5 level at matchpoints and nor would i be happy bypassing 4S. i would be a lot more tempted by 4H if it were an option though.
Feb. 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
double asks for a heart stop. why didn't west bid 3nt?
Feb. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
there was an individual trial for the u20s in 1993. they no doubt took the view that u20s were too stupid to grasp the concept of partnerships or system.
Jan. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 over 1nt would set spades slammy. p didn't do that so he's unsure as to strain.
Jan. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
'roughly what he had shown so far'turned out to be a weak nt with 3 diamonds and 4 clubs
Dec. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another shite ruling from San diego:

Edit: fwiw this was bracket 1 of a 2 day KO

It gets to the 3rd round of the auction with south to bid when north spots that south has cards of the right colour still in the board. South has a hand already, also of the same colour.

It's unclear what has happened, e.g. has south been bidding a previous hand or has he put his previous cards back in the wrong board?

North asks south if he recognises the hand he's bidding. South says not. North takes the mystery south cards out of the slot and examines them. This is a new hand. South now reconsiders the hand he's been bidding and comes to the conclusion that he may recognise it after all.

At this point east west call the director. The facts are duly explained. The director takes south away from the table and looks at his correct hand. The director then says the bidding can continue. South passes his partner's 3d (1d-2d-2nt-3d with ew silent). This becomes the final contract. The director now explains that he let the binding stand because south has roughly what he showed so far and ‘FYI has a genuine opening bid’. I thought it ridiculous for the director to be commenting on South's hand prior to the end of the board.

Edit: for clarity, south is now declarer in 3d
Dec. 13, 2017
Alex Hydes edited this comment Dec. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, because it's not automatic to pass directly. This Is 2 questions in 1. A) what do you bid directly? B) if you pass directly, what do you do in the pass out seat?
Nov. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
south is worth 2 goes. north is worth his 4c but that's it. 3s-4c-4d-4s-5c-5h-5s.

kxx spades, akxx hearts and a singleton club is enough for south. can't expect north to make too many tries with a 10 count.
Sept. 28, 2017
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top