Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Andrew Sinclair
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did South know that 3 showed 4 spades and 6-9 HCP? Do NS have an agreement on what a double of a Bergen 3 bid is? If the answers to these questions are yes and no, then the ruling sounds correct to me, even if there was no alert. Maybe North thinks that a double of a Bergen 3 should show clubs and South thinks it should be takeout of spades and they've never discussed it with each other before.
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With Qxx KQ10 AKQJx Jx I’d bid 2N. This hand is one trick better so I bid 3N.
Dec. 2, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That sounds more complicated than Lebensohl to me. If you're going for less to remember, why not just play whatever you want to play, i.e. stolen bid doubles. Sure, it might be worse than other conventions, but how much worse? How often does it even come up? Better to put the thought and partnership discussion into defensive card play.
Nov. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With Ax opposite Qx in the opponents’ suit, which hand wants to declare is whichever one puts the opponent with the K on lead. It’s essentially random, though you might infer which opponent is more likely to have the K based on length or suit quality required for an overcall. I wouldn’t sweat wrong-siding this contract.
Nov. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's great. I wonder what the length is of the longest possible sequence of consecutive bids with an actual meaning within a non-contrived system.
Nov. 21, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What's your NT range?
Nov. 8, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's an 11-card hand, Martin. Thanks for your input on the first bidding problem. Any thoughts on the second, or additional questions on the last page?
Oct. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That’s not a thing.
Oct. 21, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 3 asks for a stopper, then South should be able to deduce from North's 3NT bid that North has Qxx. South can then bid 4 to set clubs as trump and let the bidding go from there.
Oct. 15, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not quite good enough for 3. With the honors moved around like xxx, K9x, AQJ10x, xx it might get there.
Oct. 13, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 says to partner this is our hand on power. That’s not what we have here.
Oct. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A cellphone would be pretty useless in a cave. No reception.
Oct. 9, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would play 4 asks for key cards in clubs, 4 asks for key cards in hearts.
Oct. 7, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 doesn’t stop partner from bidding 3. Then 4 by us should show our hand.
Sept. 22, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also, I do not agree with your assertion that “Had double been alerted, and a David Burn explanation of ”we don't know what we're doing, but amongst the possibilities are spades, not spades, and values“ South would still have bid 3, and North would have bid 4 to initiate a sign-off sequence. Maybe E/W would go to 4, but they won't go to 5

I see no evidence that is the case. I think the auction would have been the exact same.
Sept. 15, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When did East and West offer their opinions on what the double could mean? Was it during the auction?

If there were no questions from North or South during the auction, what could possible be construed as misinformation? The lack of an alert? Shouldn't there be an easy reference as to which calls require alerts in the EBU? It should be cut and dried whether a call for which there is no agreement requires an alert. My guess is that no alert is required. In this situation I would not be “uncertain whether the regulations require an alert”, I would be confident that no agreement = no alert.
Sept. 15, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This one by Gavin Wolpert is good: https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/two-way-new-minor-forcing-aka-xynt/
Sept. 6, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This poll needs an “Other” option. What if I don't like any of your ideas?
Sept. 1, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With some partners, I play the following:

X suggests penalty in at least one of their suits.

Unusual/unusual cue bids

2NT = lebensohl

2NT then a cue bid on the 3 level shows a stopper in that suit and denies one in the other suit.

2NT then 3NT shows stoppers in both suits.

Direct 3NT denies a stopper in either suit.

Bidding a suit that is not one of theirs is to play at the 2 level, and forcing at the 3 level (standard lebensohl treatment applies).
Aug. 27, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A double is not a bid.
Aug. 23, 2019
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
.

Bottom Home Top