Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Andrew Sinclair
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. It is important that you state where you are playing. ACBL?

2. Once you give jurisdiction, this doesn't really need a poll. This is a simple situation, and therefore has a cut-and-dry answer. If playing under the ACBL, the alert chart specifies that for responses to a 1-level opening suit bid, no alert is required for “2/1 responses that promise invitational or better values”. There is ambiguity, but I assume that it is meant to mean natural 2/1 responses, as it also states that “other conventional responses” require alerts. So is 2 natural or conventional here? The ACBL convention charts' definition of “natural” includes “any response or rebid in a minor at the two-level or higher showing 3 or more cards in the suit bid”. So this definitely does not require an alert. If 2 could be as short as 2, then it would require an alert.
March 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That’s a very interesting idea. Do you have similar bids when you start with 1D or 1H and partner bids 1higher?
Feb. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to quickly add that I have at times thought that if I heard GSGH I would want to stop in 3 but if I heard BSGH I would want to play in game. Something like KJx KJxx KJx KJx. I only need partner to have Hxxxxx in hearts to have 0/1 loser and a second honor is wasted unless hearts split 3-0, so I’d rather have that honor outside the suit.
Feb. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Surely partner denies 3S by failing to bid 2S after your 2D FSF. Especially since partner has a weak hand (has made a NF second rebid) he or she should have made the lowest, most descriptive bid. I don’t think a 3=5=0=5 should be possible here, even if the spades are weak and the hearts and clubs are strong.
Feb. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would a direct 2 over 1 be? If something other than a wjs, 2 here could be on a 0-count (for my precision partnerships, at least). It still could be if the shape is something like 5314.
Feb. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is partner 1st or 2nd seat? Would a 2 opening be a weak two? What's our style with this preempt? Is partner going to have QJ10xxxx or better? Could partner have only a 6-card suit?
Jan. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sounds like it must be a problem with either your web browser or BridgeWinners' convention card editor. Can you try another web browser or if that doesn't work, another computer? Those would rule out the problem being anything on your end and after that it would have to be a bug or other error in BridgeWinners.
Jan. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Trying choosing to “print as PDF”. That should allow you to save the convention card as a PDF file on your computer. Then you could try opening that file to see if it looks correct. If the file looks correct but still prints wrong, then it's a problem with your printer. You could try emailing the file to yourself and going to a print shop to have it printed.
Jan. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, if you edit quick enough Bridgewinners does not add the “Michael Xu edited this comment 8,675,309 hours ago” note.
Jan. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hand diagram, please.
Jan. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4m is not a great contract at matchpoints.

There are a lot of published systems out there you can use, but not once have I ever seen one that has ways of responder getting out in 4m. Do you really want to go against the tide that much? 3S and 3NT are valuable bids to look for slams.
Jan. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I doubt the longest possible auction has occurred before. That is, P-P-P-1-P-P-X-P-P-XX-P-P-1-P-P-X-P-P-XX-P-P-1…7NT-P-P-X-P-P-XX-AP
Jan. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m not quite sure exactly what you’re waxing poetic about, but the people have spoken. X asks for a heart.
Dec. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me, there are effectively 3 regionals per year. From the Bay Area I'm not willing to go farther than Sacramento, Monterey, or Santa Clara. A think a lot of players are in my boat. Do you really think 3 regionals is too many for one year? This is essentially a local problem. If a district decides that their regionals are not attended enough and the solution is to remove one regional per year, then they can make that decision. There doesn't need to be a national rule reducing the number of regional tournaments or some kind of quota system.
Dec. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Regional = most players are willing to drive to
NABC = most players are willing to fly to

At least that appears to be SOP here in the SF Bay. There are many players who will go to a regional in the area but not fly to an NABC. Why take away their tournaments? The idea that decreasing the number of regionals will increase the attendance at individual regionals is a classist idea that might apply to retirees able to travel wherever/whenever they want but not to many others who we should be welcoming to the bridge community.
Dec. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner is unlikely to bid 1 with that hand.
Nov. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner will bid a minor suit because you asked them too. Looking at your hand, partner is unlikely to have a spade stopper or an extra heart, and more likely to have a long minor suit to bid. How will it help to know which minor suit partner prefers? If you now jump to 4, partner will play you for a hand not good enough to force to game before but good enough to go after hearing their rebid. But that is a misdescription of your hand. Better to cue bid now to describe your hand (strength and support). Later after partner takes a second bid you can decide to treat your hand as invitational or game forcing or even to bid no trump. And now partner can make a better judgment to double when it is right because you have shown your strength.
Nov. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does ELC apply here? BridgeWinners is my bidding coach so the blame could rest with an equal level on your shoulders :-).
Nov. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A LOL tried to psyche against me in an NABC midnight game. Last hand of the match. Long pause before she opens. This is just above that.
Oct. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Against 4, East could have led low from the A. Declarer might not play East to underlead the A and not play the K, thus lose the first 3 tricks to Q, A, ruff.
Oct. 5, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top