Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Andrew Sinclair
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You don't know if it's game forcing until you ask.

Also, I'm torn between the approaches of never ask so your opponents can't clarify their bids and always ask so you don't give UI to your partner by sometimes asking and passing and sometimes just passing. Theoretically you are protected if you ask every time because if the answer helps your opponents it is UI.
Feb. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What were the director's options? I would let East pass if it would bar West from leading spades for a round and I would bid 3NT. If East decides to bid 4 then I double.
Feb. 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mike, it's because he's assuming that the opening lead was from QJ or QJT(xxx). Being able to place at least two hearts in North's hand means that North has 11 unknown cards, and before we know if South followed to the first trick, South has 13 unknown cards. This brings me to the chance the K is onside is 11/24 ~= 46%. I believe Charles took the fraction 11/25 (I think this is an accident), because that is 44% exactly.
Feb. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can. I find it very useful though cumbersome to use.

Click My BBO -> Hands and Results -> Hand Editor. Create the hand and save it in a new folder. Then start a teaching table, sit at all 4 positions, and click Deal Source and choose the folder. Then Redeal.
Feb. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It might not be. I don't know the percentage of either line but I know this one is larger than 50% so that seemed acceptable.
Feb. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Win in hand and take the diamond finesse. If it loses, you can win any return and squeeze South if they started with 4+ spades and 5+ diamonds. If South incorrectly shows 5+ cards in the rounded suits, you can switch to the major suit squeeze on North provided South did not return a heart at trick 3.
Feb. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
15 minutes into filling out a new card, this should have been discussed.
Jan. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Jay, AKQxx AKQx x xxx?
Dec. 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If West had one more low diamond and one fewer low club at trick 11, N/S have the last 3 tricks, plus the other 4.
Dec. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How many tricks are N/S asking for? Give them that many. I'm guessing that is 8 tricks, since N/S should win 7 tricks on the play plus one penalty.
Dec. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree. I think from recent events we can see that sometimes a single board between two pairs can indirectly affect who wins the entire event even if that pair is not directly involved. The ACBL should strive 1) to have fair rules and 2) to make sure that the rules are applied equally to every pair, every board. Whether one is a newbie pair or a past world champion should not matter. Whether one is leading the field by 5%, in the middle of the pack, or behind by 5% should not matter. Whether it will benefit you or harm you or have no effect on your score should not matter.
Nov. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 1NT, how does responder show a slam try with 6M-3-2-2 or 7M-2-2-2? Could one play that after a Jacoby transfer, a jump to the 4-level shows first- or second-round control (or just first-round control) while a 3 bid (or something else) is an artificial slam try with shortness?

For this partnership, N and S must agree whether responder can splinter with such a weak hand, or whether opener can ask for key cards with such a weak hand (in light of the splinter). They share blame because they did not agree on a solid definition of the possible strength of responder's splinter.
Nov. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Though it might be suboptimal, I will open the longer minor no matter what and with equal length open 1 unless it's 3-3 and then open 1. This is local novice standard practice, so I would feel safest bidding this way with a pickup partner. My regular partners will not raise my minor suit (playing inverted or not) without 5 card support, except perhaps after a 1M overcall he or she might raise with 4-card support. The worst case is we wander into a xxx-xxxx fit (can we call this a telephone number fit?) but it's never happened yet.
Oct. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Marty, what do you play following a reverse into spades? Since 2NT would both be 1 step up from the reverse. Or do you prefer not reversing into spades with a minimum reverse, instead bidding something like 1m-1H-1S.
Oct. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would take it as a control bid. I'm thinking partner has a hand with long diamonds (6+) that wasn't able to preempt due to suit quality. Say, x Kx xxxxxxx Axx. It should be a slam try because you've already told your partner that 3NT is the best game.
Oct. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ruff the last spade, then three rounds of diamonds. You can fall back on the club finesse if East wins the third diamond and returns a low club.
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Declarer seems to hold either 5=1=5=2 or 5=0=5=3. In the former case leading a club will give declarer a heart discard (eliminate a loser), and in the latter case leading A will allow declarer to ruff and draw trump, eliminating the chance of giving your partner a club ruff.

In the former case, declarer might have something like
AKJxx x AQxxx J8 and partner Qxx J9xxx xx A53. In the latter case, declarer might have AKJxx - AQxxx J83 and partner Qxx J9xxxx xx A5.

In the latter case, it looks more likely that declarer would have opened 1 than in the former case, but it also looks like the hand with which partner is more likely to lead the A. Overall I am playing the A, playing declarer for 5=1=5=2.
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with Phillip that because West did not double, the drop appears to be the correct play.
Sept. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about poll twice as many players and ask half of them the questions in the opposite order? If you see a big difference in how the questions are answered, then clearly the order matters. Now you have all the data you need to make a good ruling.
Sept. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, currently the choices are confusing which is maybe why most people are abstaining.
Sept. 5, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top