Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Anthony Taglione
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 61 62 63 64
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I thought the answer was 42. Now, what was the question, again?
July 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bingo
July 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It always irritates me when I open a weak-two and my partner describes it as weak. Does she not see the possibilities inherent in my cards??
July 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was almost pilloried for heresy when I recently offered that partner's signal is a clue, not a command.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice one, Max, but, sadly, I think that one would fall under 72B1
July 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The irony of hand 32.
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As the situation is presented, South gave an explanation based on an implicit understanding from their general methods and offered a sequence which would show a stronger hand than 3 directly. Thus did North consider that he had misbid.

EW were not misinformed. Result stands.
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think south described the hand well enough for East to be left to rot with his double.
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I once played from dummy before partner even began to put dummy down. I saw the lead and said, "Small ruff, please'
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Players don't always respect the face-up card but I'm happy to use my voice if they don't. I really only need to prevent partner from playing to the next trick.

I just had a look through the rules but can't see anything preventing declarer leading to the next trick while your card from the current trick is still face up. Of course, you can both just ignore the lead until ready to move on to the next trick.
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It doesn't really matter whether declarer played fast or slow if 3rd hand had things to do. With one partner I have to handle pretty much everything at the table. I do the bridgemates and I do the scorecard. If I'm third hand then I need some extra time to look at the cards before playing. Sometimes, declarer takes his 20s and I've used all that time filling everything in. Now my 20s can begin.

Sometimes I make the opening lead and the trick is over before I've done the admin for the table. I'll leave my card face up and take stock of the hand, since it's my first opportunity.
July 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Haha! Good one, Ed. It's only recently that the club introduced the idea of a free session for the TD.
June 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This still often ends up being the case, though, John.

The other day, I was party to a new wrinkle on the comparable call fiasco. I was dealer and my LHO opens 1 out of turn. My partner rejects it and I open 2NT, LHO passes and partner raises me to 3NT. I have a small doubleton in spades and partner is void. They lead a spade but can't avoid RHO getting on lead. At this point, I prohibit a spade lead and make. My stopper in spades consisted of nothing more than the expectation that RHO would get the lead before I was down.
June 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If they don't realise by now…
June 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The TD has to take the double in isolation for consideration of whether it's a comparable call to 2NT, regardless of whether some possible continuation might show the same values as a 2NT opener.
June 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Knowledge of the rejected 2NT opening bid is AI to the opponents.

Now, if 4th seat has ten or more points, he will be aware that his partner has psyched the 1 bid. We might wonder whether his pass of 3NT constitutes a fielded psyche but the knowledge of the rejected 2NT opener leaves the points-paucity of opener as AI.
June 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not sure what to read into partner's questions. Was he unsure of the merits of doubling but even more unsure of the value of declaring a spades contract?

My only thought now is whether I can ethically bid 6 or have to content myself with 5; I seem to have lost my pass cards. I think the UI is leaning in favour of 5 over 6, so I've happily rationalised myself into bidding 6.
May 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My first thoughts on reaching the table, and after a shake of the head that I wasn't called sooner… South has rejected the lead of the K, which becomes a major penalty card. East has made a lead and, unless he was told by someone that he must lead a diamond, I leave it at that. If South told him that he must lead a diamond then the King gets picked up.

I then advise everyone that they should call the director and not try to come to their own rulings. Everyone at the table can consider that a warning for the evening.
May 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He was thinking of psyching but simply misbid instead. :-j
May 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's very easy as a rookie director to get waved away. As a grizzled veteran, not so much.
May 29
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 61 62 63 64
.

Bottom Home Top