Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Ari Greenberg
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, redoubling could certainly land me in a worse contract. My primary goal from redoubling is that my opponents won't double us in whatever contract we run out to. I don't know how likely this is but it happened at the table.

The other good thing that can happen from redoubling is if partner has 4 clubs then we will play 2, which looks like it will play at least 2 tricks better than diamonds. Of course, the opponents are less likely to double 2 if we have an 8-card fit there.

If partner doesn't have 4 clubs and the opponents continue to double me then I don't expect to get a good score, but I was never getting a good score in 1X either.
Sept. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My North opponent was a 7-time NABC champion. Passing 1X would have resulted in an 18% board even if I managed to get out for 800, so it seems like I took a worthwhile risk in redoubling.
Sept. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I held the East hand and the auction started the same way. I redoubled, planning to redouble again if 1 got doubled and again if 1 got doubled. I figured partner could then correct to 1NT or 2.
Partner bid 1 and North at my table bid 2NT, taking me off the hook.

The first time I held this sort of hand on this auction I passed without giving it much thought and went for a huge number. The second time this happened, I thought for a while before passing and going for a huge number. After being burned two times I've finally learned my lesson, which is to trust the opponents when they pass partner's takeout double of 1 of a minor.

It helps that my partner is familiar with my style here so he felt no pressure to respond to the opening bid.
Sept. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play systems on over 2 showing one major, so X would be a transfer to hearts and 2 would be a transfer to spades. We don't play lebensohl here so I could have bid 2NT natural and invitational – perhaps that would have been a better bid. In matchpoints I would have bid 2NT. But I figured that if the clubs run then 3NT will usually make, and if they don't then 2NT will often go down anyways.
Oct. 8, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You make a good point, Henry, but certainly more technology can help reduce human-entered scoring errors. Certainly the “eyeball scanning” could be done automatically to detect results that are likely to be erroneous (e.g. scored as NS making 3N at one table while every other result in the field has EW making 3N) and new technology could be used to notify players at the end of the session that there is a likely scoring error.

Of course there will always be scoring errors, but it seems likely to me that technology will reduce the frequency of errors rather than increase it.
Aug. 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Sabine for joining us today.

Do you have a favorite hand you'd like to share from all your years playing bridge?

By the way, if anybody is interested in checking out Sabine's great book “I Love This Game” it is available here: http://bridgewinners.com/store/ebook/i-love-this-game/
May 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, yes we were considering appealing since 3N making 3 was a possible outcome. However it wouldn't have made a significant difference in our score so we decided not to bother. Most pairs who were in 3N made 10 tricks. I believe the right line is to cash 3 diamonds from the top, allowing you to switch to spades if the diamonds are 5-2 or worse.
July 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played this hand and our opponents had the auction 2H (weak) -P-3N*-P-4H-P-P-P. There was about a two minute tank before the 3N call. We called the director as soon as 4H was bid. Declarer made 5, but the director ruled it back to 3N making 4.
July 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Interesting point Andrew. I held the West hand on this board, and I assumed that partner would have played the Q from QJxxx, which made cashing the K at trick two less likely to be correct. But if I am known to often lead unsupported aces here then I can't make any inferences that partner doesn't hold both spade honors with length.
April 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think Meckstroth has every right to demand that his opponents provide a written defense for Multi when the bid comes up. I would think it quite odd, however, if the opponents provided a defense but Meckwell decided to use their own defense instead. Does anyone know if Meckwell normally plays one of the ACBL suggested defenses to Multi?
March 22, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top