Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Goren
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The winning solution is to play 3 rounds of Diamonds ending in dummy and ruff the second spade . Play the 4th Diamond and pitch the last Spade. The defense has no answer
Jan. 2, 2011
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
U can get his autograph at GCC Sartaj :)
Dec. 25, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just a thought here. If 4D showed any 2 suits cant 5C be construed as Natural?
Dec. 24, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Page 256 of Kelseys book
Dec. 24, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is indeed a Knockout
Dec. 23, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would love to see more stuff like this!!
Dec. 11, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like 2NT better than 3H as a space saver and to show stoppers. This allows partner to show a fragment at the 3 level. for instance Hx in clubs or 3 small . Axx in Diamonds or Spades . Or to just choose 3NT with weak hearts and cards outside . So my auction continues 3C-3H and proceeds the same way as yours . NOW partner can choose 6C with confidence
Dec. 5, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would be interesting is : What if you bid 5H ? It could easily be the correct contract as you might use one minor to pitch the other . That is something you might not be able to do in a minor on a high Spade lead and a heart shift. On the other hand can 5H be a Q bid with xxxx Axx Kxx Kxx? Perhaps we would act with that immediately . Perhaps not . We would certainly think about it. So is partner constrained here? No one really has an agreement as to what 5H means.
Dec. 4, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seriously bucking the odds Tim
Nov. 10, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oh yea. I agree with all the bids taken up to that point. Especially 2S . With zero points in partner's suits we shouldn't be inviting partner to bid again without substantial extras
Nov. 10, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't like Boye's pull. He has described his hand and has a pleasant surprise.
Nov. 10, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yea well its been a week since you won anything (hows that for sarcasm?)
Nov. 4, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is???? If anyone bids it's East
Nov. 4, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 9 of Hearts is such a “blowout the suit” card . Dont understand it. 7 makes more sense to discourage. Not at all clear what the right pitch is . I think the 4 of Hearts might be best . Lets partner in on the distribution and suggests something in Hearts . Partner might not rush to play hearts . Might well switch to a club from the king as you didnt pitch a discouraging Club .

As I commented in Larry's article yesterday. This is why you take time in 3rd seat on every hand so declarer cant get a read on your hand .

I hate the lead .No reason to think that trumps needed to cut down dummy's ruffing power and I can always do it later. Giving up trump control can be devastating to the defense. I would lead a Heart .
Nov. 4, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my opinion 2 mistakes were made at trick one.

I think it is mandatory for 3rd hand to take 15-30 seconds every hand in order to count and MORE IMPORTANTLY to allow partner to ask and answer all the questions that Larry posed. Had declarer won the club smoothly and led a spade, opening leader would not be prepared.

This brings me to my second point. Declarer should take 15-30 seconds before playing from the dummy so as not to give the defense information as in Larry's example. Players will find that their tempo improves tremendously when you take some time at trick one
Nov. 3, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hate preempting with AK of my suit. Too easy to go for a number against nothing for the opponents especially on this hand where i have a ton of defense on the side that might not be worth anything on offense . So I would always open this 1C playing std. I give up a little by allowing the opps to get in at the 1 level but I gain by being able to stop at 2C some of the time or by being able to dbl the opps some of the time. If I play good bad 2NT ( I dont ) I am not afraid of bidding again if partner peeps . I am not ashamed of this dummy in 3NT .

That being said I think its a clear 2C bid playing strong club cause it is the best of both worlds . A little preemption and a little defense . Partner can judge pretty well . The only issue is how to respond to a 2D inquiry . Should I treat this as a min? Does AKJxxxx qualify as a hand I am not ashamed of?

I would never dream of passing 2D with a suit of this quality and short diamonds. Too easy for it to go all pass and partner has some random 10 count that makes 3NT icy.

So I would never be in this position that you put yourself in. There is a case that dbl of 3D should be for penalty and I certainly would think that direct dbl of 3D is penalty ( needs to have firm agreement) . I think most would play that dbl in balance here is a light major oriented hand . Clubs is not an option. If I didnt have a 7th club I would think a heart game is best though short of just bidding it I dont see how we get there . I am never bidding 5C directly. I would Q first and pass 4H

Nov. 2, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
what happened to Liz??????
Nov. 1, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Perhaps it was his dad?
Oct. 27, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Should dbl the shortness to say lead the fragment suit. They redbl a lot less
Oct. 26, 2010
.

Bottom Home Top