Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Goren
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I call this the 2C psych. I am always getting to at least 5C . I want to discourage the opps from competing and I want to hear partner possibly control bid . Partner shouldn't get too excited unless he has prime cards
Sept. 24, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Need another club in your bag to handle choice of games with a 6 card suit balanced . I use transfer followed by 3H ( forcing after Heart transfer) to cater to these hands
Sept. 24, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And why is 2H even forcing? Cant partner have xx AJxx x AQJxxx and be forced to bid here because of short Diamonds? I definitely would never try it in a new partnership nor would I play it forcing in my partnership
Sept. 24, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I dunno Stevie . I like your bidding contest approach. When I start with 4C I am very well placed no matter what the opponents do. Partner knows that defense cards in Spades and Diamonds are bad and when I follow up with 5D ( or pass and pull) he will know that Spade control is good along with good trumps
Sept. 19, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doooooh!
Sept. 17, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don't see how that holding matters Jason. You need to ruff the second Diamond . If West is going to ruff in twice with honors then you will need to find East with H9 dbltn anyway
Sept. 17, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't see anything better than trying to set up Diamonds. Win ace of Hearts Cash AK of Diamonds and now carefully concede a club to cut the defense's communications in case Diamonds are 4-2 with a dbltn Q. Can't say I have much sympathy for South's auction . Inviting in Spades was an overbid . Bidding game opposite partner's invitation was “ mis judged”. I would have raised to game directly with the North hand
Sept. 17, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice to see some real class in the joint :). Steve Weinstein's second favorite Bridge writer
Sept. 17, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.


Unless they changed the rules of Bridge, contracting at the 5 level required taking 11 tricks no matter what the suit is.

Mr. Solick contends ( if I understand him correctly) that this is not the case when your suit is Hearts. He would rather overcall 2C and bury the Heart suit when the opps have Spades as opposed to showing 2 suits straight off.

I would sympathize with his position if his contention was that partner wouldnt know what minor to save in if the auction got to 4S quickly but I wouldn't agree with it. At least knowing partner has a minor allows you to save when you fit both minors.
Sept. 16, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good hand.
Sept. 14, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I disagree Barry . There is no way that opener moves toward slam when responder signs off with AKJxx of trumps . Responder has to make a slam try
Sept. 13, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bidding 2H with that is putting all your MPs into one basket. Dbl is a reasonable option . Pass is probably best opposite a passed partner but no one ever won a MP event by passing these hand types
Sept. 11, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I blame the system . As Jason points out there is a huge difference between Stiff A and Stiff K in a 15 point hand. HOWEVER I blame North for this disaster . South has a mandatory 5C bid. That might be all partner needs for slam . Partner didn't bid RKCB after all. North should bid 5D last train and now South can sign off
Sept. 11, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you guys drunk? My line is a claimer. What more is there to discuss??
Sept. 9, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Cant endplay a man who doesnt have both kings
Sept. 9, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ooooooops . Oh yea :) Still the right move though
Sept. 7, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Declarer can do better too. If he ducks 2 rounds of Diamonds before running Clubs he comes to a 4 card ending . If East blanks the Spade ace Declarer ducks one and pitches the losing Jack of Hearts on the last Diamond winner. If East keeps 2-2 in the majors he is ended with Heart Heart. Costs nothing to rectify the count!!
Sept. 7, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess if East pitches a Diamond you can earn a beer
Sept. 7, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Assuming West is 5-5-0-3 The hand is a claim. Finish off your minor suit winners coming down to 1-1-3-0 in dummy then cash the ace that East doesn't have a dbltn in. At that point he is down to either 3 Diamonds and 1 of the other major . Cash the other major suit and endplay East with a low D. If East keeps 2 Diamonds only . Set up a Diamond. If East keeps 2-2 in the majors claim 13 tricks
Sept. 6, 2010
.

Bottom Home Top