Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Brian Davies
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is a further unanswered question, based on the fact that bridge is a competitive game and there is no law stopping the opps from bidding! How often will we gain from denying the opponents bidding space, by bidding 1NT first and forcing the opponents to risk a two-level bid if they want to compete.
May 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ok, I seem to be in a minority on this one.

My point was not to deny that this is a poor 12 count (it is of course). I was trying to suggest that the reason for playing a weak NT is to get to 1NT before the opps and these type of 12 counts are rather common. Many would open an equally poor 15 count if playing a strong NT (I tested this: https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-2-0y0glhbv63/ - but I concede that I was surprised that a significant minority chose not to open 1NT.

We are vulnerable, but this is match points and sitting 1st seat (this is a far more risky opening in 3rd seat). Kieran Dyke pointed out the risk of conceding 1,100 - fair enough, but since this is MPs and -500 or -200 might well be a bottom, I am just as worried by these results. On the other hand a weak NT can be an effective way of preventing the opponents getting an easy route into the auction. This is simply the judgement that you make when choosing to put a weak NT onto your convention card.

Maybe it comes down to what your partner expects from an opening weak NT? For us, this opening would be at the bottom end, but within partner's expectations.
May 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you added another king, I predict that everyone who plays a 15-17 NT will open 1NT. I agree that it is not a great hand, but if you are playing a weak NT you are aiming to get to that 1NT high ground. It is an easy 1NT opening for me in any seat except third seat.
April 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why put 12-14 on your convention card if you are not going to use it?
April 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would rule 2NT - 4
April 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass. The bidding has told you that East did not have a 2D bid. No doubt there was UI, but you know that East has forgotten the system anyway based on AI.
April 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Did he miss by a level in that he intended to pull out 2♥ but missed and picked 1♥? ”

David does add: “… intending to bid 2♥.” - which is why most are judging that Law 25 applies, I think.
April 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David Burn, maybe it is the way that you have framed the original post: “You inadvertently bid 1♥, intending to bid 2♥.” This seems to imply that the facts would support the judgement that the 1♥ call was unintended. Based on this, responders are stating that Law 25 should apply.

If you had framed the question as you later did: “You are the Director, called to a table where East has bid 1♠ and South had bid 1♥ (those are the bidding cards face up on the table)”, then it is less clear-cut and is a matter of fact whether the call is unintended. In this case, I would suggest that the default assumption is that the call is intended unless there is clear evidence to convince the director that the call is unintended.

It is not obvious, it is a question of fact and only the director can make this judgement at the table based on the evidence available to her/him.

.
April 18, 2018
Brian Davies edited this comment April 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In England, the usual practice is that the bids remain on the table until the opening lead is faced.
Feb. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
MW: He thought he had 3-6-1-6? Even with 16 cards the sequence does not exist.
Jan. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play in the Essex leagues if you want any information or contacts. Alan gives a good summary.
Jan. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks. Me too.
Dec. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The WC handbook describes south's call as a psyche?

Surely it was north who psyched and south fielded the psyche?
Dec. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Halmic with one partner. SWINE with another.
Dec. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without agreement, double shows clubs.

But I prefer double to say “I was about to make a penalty double of 1NT”.
Nov. 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play Stayman, then 3m shows 5-4. Transfer, then 3M shows 6-4.
Nov. 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I seem to remember reading somewhere: “Don't punish partner for protecting”. As long as you trust partner to remember this, you can protect aggressively.
Aug. 11, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it's important, it was a 32 board teams of 8 match. IMPs converted to VPs.
July 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me, 2H is long hearts in a weak hand with no tolerance for your suits. 2S shows A likely void, or possibly a singleton heart and is an attempt to find a better place to play - at least six spades, probably seven spades.
July 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steven: with non-touching, probably pass forces a redouble and then bid the lower suit.
June 29, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top