Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Bud Hinckley
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A simple method I like is

(1M)-2M = clubs and the unbid major
(1M)-2NT = diamonds and the unbid major
(1m)-2m = both majors

Yes, you lose 2NT unusual to show the minors. But we all know we use that tool far more often than we should as we advertise our shape to a thankful declarer playing game in a major!
May 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Using game forcing 2 Stayman, I would learn opener held

A???
A???
K?
Q??

with the auction 1NT-2(game forcing)-2-2(asking)
2NT(4-4-?-?)-3(ask)-3(4423)-3(control ask)
4(5 controls)-4(ask)-4NT(K)-5(queen ask)
5(Q)-7

May 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Too late now - but I wish I had simply posted this as a “what line of play do you take” question, giving East's hesitation before the club switch as “about one full minute” and asked whether you would take the trump finesse or not. Would have been a better poll question that way.
May 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes - it was going to be difficult for me not to be revealed as likely one of the four players on this deal. But my intent was not to have anyone else revealed.
May 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eight pairs played a 4 contract. Seven times the Q was led. Six out of those seven times, eleven tricks were scored. It is very likely at the other six tables, the A was won and the club singleton shift made in less than five seconds, and those six declarers were smarter than me and banged down the trump ace and queen quickly! LOL
May 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree - what to do when holding KJ10xx Kxx x KJ10x? Clearly you know they are in trouble.
May 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's be very clear - this original post was intended as hypothetical on whether declarer might have a leg to stand on with a director and/or appeals committee. Never were any specific players ever going to be identified - at least not by me! Note that Tim D. could have avoided identification of any of the players - but he effectively did at the very end of his initial post.

Repeating for emphasis - I never revealed in any way the identity of East.
May 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I had called the director, it would have had no effect on whether I posted the hand here or not. I wasn't accusing East of anything deliberately done wrong. I was curious how many of us would think the cops would be called for this if it happened in a high level pairs event and whether some eloquent descriptions by East would be required as the reason for a full minute delay to trick 2 to avoid an adjusted score.
May 19, 2013
Bud Hinckley edited this comment May 19, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The heart ruff possibility is so much less than the club ruff possibility that it should be dismissed very quickly - declarer didn't raise hearts and bid 3S in tempo. And West might have led something other than the queen from QJ109 and a heart void.

The possibility of KJ109 with declarer has slightly better possibilities, but no diamond or notrump bid by declarer in an in tempo auction means partner having the trump ace (or king if declarer finesses) is still a much better chance than partner having led a stiff Q.

As for the time to take leading a stiff club, declarer looked at dummy for about 15 seconds. I would take my usual 20 seconds or so in third seat, win the A, then shift to the stiff club about five seconds later. I would already know my trick 2 lead before I turned my A over to quit the trick. (Occasionally, if I know it will take some extra time to decide on my trick 2 lead, I will play my card and plan on leaving it face up until I have made my decision on what to lead to trick 2.)
May 19, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was declarer and perhaps took 10 to 12 seconds to play from dummy, not the 15 or 20 seconds. Usually I do take about 15-20 seconds to play from dummy. (And 20 to 30 seconds to play after dummy plays when I am on defense.)

Tim is correct that this East defender is VERY slow. And when I say that it was a 45 second pause, I probably underestimated it - it was probably a full minute, and seemed even longer. Even for this East, it was longer than probably any pause at trick 2 I had ever seen from this player. Once we got to a hesitation so long that even for this player it was extremely long, I said to myself “at least there won't be a stiff club being led at this point after this much of a delay”. I felt the chance of getting burned by finessing in trumps (stiff king or Kxx in LHO's hand AND the club shift being a stiff) was less than the chance of Kx on my right.

I was polite and didn't say anything at the table after this happened - but I really wish I had asked East immediately what he/she was thinking about for a full minute - now if she could have come up with any of the KJ109 or heart possibilities that Tim described initially, as a reasonable “demonstrable bridge reason for the action (hesitation)”, I would have shaken my head and left it - although I don't think even for this East it should have taken anywhere near that long to cover those possibilities mentally.

But it would be a good ploy if you held Kx and xx in the blacks and certainly East “could have known, at the time of the action, that the action could work to his benefit”.

And to make it clear - I don't think East deliberately misled me as declarer - but that isn't really what I'm asking in this poll question. What I was curious about is if it was thought that a director and/or appeals committee could rule against the defender for this.u
May 18, 2013
Bud Hinckley edited this comment May 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
True - if opener has a solid five-card minor, 3NT will usually play better. I still think you'll make more tricks in hearts on average in the long run if you Texas with that five card suit.
May 15, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I find it interesting that at least SOME put this contract in 4. But in the previous companion bidding poll where responder held 109 A87xx 10xxx 98, not one person used a Texas transfer to place the contract in 4 with a 5-card suit.
May 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Could someone do a simulation to see if a balanced or semi-balanced 22-23 HCP with a doubleton heart will take more tricks in notrump or the 5-2 heart fit opposite 109 A8762 10652 98?
May 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you give it some thought, I think you will find 3NT will play poorly opposite a doubleton heart frequently.
May 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Compare 1-(2)-? to 1-(2)-?

Negative double clear on first auction, but definitely not the second auction with xx QTxxx xxx Axx.
May 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So what is double of 3? Specifically showing four hearts? Or just extra values and no clear direction?
May 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would not focus too much on a book that is (almost) exclusively on squeezes. Other areas are more important, even for a very good intermediate heading toward low level expert status.
May 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I concur with most of the books by Krystoff Martens - excellent!

The Rodwell Files might be a bit overwhelming. If you manage to finish it, I suggest you pick it up again 6 to 12 months later and read it again - it will sink in much better the second time.
May 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Was 2 forcing? Whether 2 was forcing or not, would 3 be forcing?

Double of 2 should show a maximum overcall and less than four-card heart support, inviting a pass but expecting a pull with spade shortness.
May 11, 2013
Bud Hinckley edited this comment May 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT-3-3-3(Smolen)-3NT-4

This would show a good 5-5 hand with some slam interest.

Or, you could transfer to 3 and jump to 4, and likely this wouldn't cost you to play 5 if that is needed.
May 11, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top