Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Csaba Czimer
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would double and I think if you (general) don't then you'd better alert partner's opening bid
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just ask Hamman, Mike Lawrence, and Bobby Wolff.
April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And still, about 50 years ago it was normal to play 1M-3M as invitational, and 1M-2N as GF balanced denying 4-card support. With some GF hands you had to start with a new suit even with 4-card support.

And… well, let me think… in our relay precision there is no direct GF raise (outside splinters). And I tell you, that it is very much playable :).
April 20
Csaba Czimer edited this comment April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play very similar: (Precison base)

1: 4+, F1 (rarely GF)
1N: 7-12 SF (no fit, no good 6m or 5 with INV)
2: GF relay
1-2: transfer to . Weak with 6+ suit, INV with 5+, some special GF (light slam try) hands
1M-2M-1: exactly INV with support
April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What do you respond with AKxx, Qxxx, AQx, Jx to 1 if you don't play Jacoby or similar raise?
April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fit jumps look good in textbooks, but in real life you just never have those hands. And even when you happen to have them you can bid them without playing fit jumps. I tried them but stopped playing them long ago.
I'd recommend playing 3 as nonforcing but strongly inviting with a good 6-carder or better suit, something like advancer had in your case (or a little weaker).
Anyway I think that your bidding was OK until 3, you should have simply bid 3N over 3.
April 20
Csaba Czimer edited this comment April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another poll for those who chose 1: what is your next call if partner responds 1M.
April 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, do you really have two ways to stop in 3 and no way to invite with diamonds, or have I misunderstood something?

(surry just noticed that duplicated Rainer's comment, forget it)
April 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Rule of 2 and 3 is gone long ago, especially vulnerable. Nowadays in 19 out of 20 times a vulnerable 3-level opening or overcall does not contain 7 tricks, and often done with less than 6.
Thus it is not 2/3/4 today, rather 3/4/5 or even 3/4/6.
The corollary: you should open with double every time.
April 12
Csaba Czimer edited this comment April 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A singleton is as useful as a king, North should cuebid it.
North is too strong for a direct splinter híd.
I think it is better to show shape below 3M than controls. (By the way, above 3M too :-) )
April 8
Csaba Czimer edited this comment April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ducking the first spade?
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fredin had seven top tricks in 1NT and went down.
March 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, you'd better write it in the problem (too)
March 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
so you end up in 3M with all 5M-4x and 6M, don't you?
March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Slawinski had some revolutionary ideas about improving bidding. Actually he won a bidding world championship with one of his systems in the 70's (maybe at the end of 60's).
As a reponse ACBL, WBF and similar low-intelligence organisations banned his ideas.

I deeply understand his opinion. Anyone who calls him non bridge player does not know much about bridge, at least about the non-anglo-saxon bridge world.
March 24
Csaba Czimer edited this comment March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
(moved)
March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My favourite principle for unclear forcing (or not) pass situations: if our bidding can be based purely on distribution, then it is not forcing.

My partner's favourite tool for situations like this one: if North wanted to make a later pass forcing he should have bid 4 or 4 over 4.
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray, aren't you afraid of declaring 3?
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double is not obligatory, just a possibility
March 22
Csaba Czimer edited this comment March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Splinters are not available in this partnership. :( Neither is 4C or 4D RKC.”

Why don't you blame your methods then?
March 2
.

Bottom Home Top