Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Csaba Czimer
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sad, but true.

Standing after the 1st round:
https://vugraph.lovebridge.com/screen/visoft_1067918_1_1?screen=running-score

Strange, isn't it? They (almost?) used to be senior world champions, or what.

After the second round:
https://vugraph.lovebridge.com/screen/visoft_1067918_2_1?screen=running-score

And yes, the tourney was played on tablets (and with screens). One of its many advantages is that it's harder to cheat with them. (you don't even have to be at the same table with your partner)
Feb. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bravo Tihana!
Feb. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They can easily have 5 (perhaps 6) club, 4 diamond and 3 (even 4) spade tricks, thus may be improbable, but not completely out.
Feb. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think spades are excluded (improbable) because partner had an opportunity to double 4.
Feb. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here is the lead problem which I faced:

https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/lead-problem-2-zms8g4q9j6/

Please vote there too, the actual bidding may (or may not) overrule the general rule.

And here is the full board, if you are interested:
(skip there only after voting please)

https://vugraph.lovebridge.com/screen/visoft_1067919_1_1?screen=replay&ns=1146515&board=22
Feb. 18
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Feb. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West's 1NT is perfect, but he has a super hand after 2, should have bid 3 instead of 3.
East may bid 4 too, he is on the upper side of his range.
And they are vulnerable.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When did South learn that North holds the trump ace?
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that 2 should be 1=4=4=4 or 0=4=5=4
Feb. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3rd (it was me)
I am in the camp who thinks that 3rd / 5th is a name of a lead convention where you lead the 3rd one from even.

OK, how do play the slam?
Feb. 3
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Feb. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
(moved)
Feb. 3
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Feb. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you, Kit
Feb. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
looks better now
Feb. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't see hands, only bidding
Feb. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's much harder if they don't bid. I was declarer with no defensive bidding and the 6 of spade (attitude) lead, that is J5 - Q432. Was thinking a bit about ducking, but unsolvable. They may easily have AJ96 vs KT7 or similar, thus I can't insert the jack and can't duck the 10.
Jan. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Looks like a advertisement of semiforcing 1NT. Playing that you can simply raise clubs. Either opener has 4 of them or strong enough to bid 3N. This time we would have stopped in 1N.
Jan. 11
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Jan. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice play.

Anyway, a spade lead does not do any harm if you duck it. If they switch to a club you should duck that too. Either your diamonds will be high or you ruff a spade and a club and your 6 will be high at the end.
Dec. 16, 2018
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Dec. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This sequence nicely confirms http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/worst-bid-for-bidding-theory-geeks-only/?cj=666537">my view on cuebidding.
Anyway, the play was cunning. Did it really happen this way?
Dec. 10, 2018
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Dec. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Diego, I did not tell that the appeal was unfair.
Dec. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry if I repeat something, I have not read all the comments above.

World class opponents bid 7NT and you hold an ace. You are of course surprised for a second. In the next second you think on how to suggest the suit of your ace. Let's say (as most people) you don't have a specific agreement on leading against 7NT, thus it looks like a Lightner double situation. That is, a double would say, “lead something unexpected”.
What is partner's expected lead after he doubled 4? Most likely a diamond. You like that, therefore you don't double. And of course this whole thinking process took some time. You may go through other suits, etc. Perhaps you even asked the meaning of their bids, mind you, it was behind screens.

OK, let's sit in North's place now. Let's say, you don't play any special thing, thus Lightner applies.
Partner's pass simply said that no surprise lead is needed (if anything).
Their auction suggests that they have a lot of tricks. Your spade, heart and club count suggests that those suits will break well for them. Thus it is very probable that the active lead won't give them just the 13th trick, it can easily be the 14th, 15th or the 16th (perhaps (much less probably) the 12th).
Partner's pass did not suggest any special lead. And that comment from East… Diamond is a quite normal lead.

Another thing. I would never-ever call the director after going down in 7NT with this diamond holding, causing a headache for the opponents.

Another thing. I don't think split scores were bad.
I think 7NT-2 for East-West and some percent 7NT making, some percent 7NT-2 for N-S would fit here nicely.

Another thing. Until now when I heard Levin and Grue's names I thought of two great players. In the following years I will think, “Ah, the guys that won the Blue Ribbon after bidding 7NT off an ace-king, going down, and getting it back by appealing”. Sad story.
Dec. 6, 2018
Csaba Czimer edited this comment Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If screens were in use, how could North know that South hesitated? It is very much possible that he was asking the meaning of their bids.

The other thing I don't understand: is it sure that the double of 7N would show the diamond ace? Do you really have to double 4 with an empty club ace? You don't dream that they will bid a grand.
Dec. 3, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top