Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Franck Guerrero
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
i know that one :-)
for me, X would be penalty and 3 the strongest way to express fit.
4 is fine too btw however if p falsely bid 2 with 3 cards, a bit riskier than 3 imo.
Feb. 17, 2016
Franck Guerrero edited this comment Feb. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nope, this one was an horror story for the opponents.
One of Good Contract Badly Bid :-)
I bid 6 with the companion hand (http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-10850/) and 6 was cold
Feb. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
MR:
I think the proposed hands are the ones that bid 6, 7 is bid by the other hand.
Feb. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
the one who leads had the information for 6 “void in s”
Feb. 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
on your side of the screen, 6 has been explained as a void. No information about 7.
Feb. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Rolf

I'm not an international director and far away to be enough a competent player to judge the auction and/or the decision.

FWIW, the committee upheld the decision at unanimity. Maybe they should have asked you to sit at the commitee :-)
Feb. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
FWIW, W justified his double stating that, even if it was a high probability that N/S had a misunderstanding, a lead would be mandatory in case they run to 7NT.

Anyway, again, nothing would have happened if N/S only stated that the auction was undiscussed…
Feb. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Apparently, the director and the committee that judged the appeal disagree.
Feb. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
According to what has been reported by the (international) director:

if W has the correct explanation, he does not double 7.
if W does not double, E does not lead a .
7 is always down on a lead and may go down on or lead.

After polling, a majority of the pollees would lead a without the double.

In short, there has been an infraction from N/S, E/W have been damaged, there is a link between the infraction and the damage.

The problem would have not occurred if N/S had just stated they had never discussed the auction and therefore had no agreement…
Feb. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Zimmermann lost following an adjusted board.

board 18:
http://www.bridgebase.com/tools/handviewer.html?bbo=y&linurl=http://www.bridgebase.com/tools/vugraph_linfetch.php?id=43012

7 has been ruled:
7 times out of 10: down 1
3 times out of 10: made

E/W asked for a ruling as on N/E side 6 was explained as void and on S/W as choice of contract.
Feb. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
True. My mistake.
Feb. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
the actual auction is there:
http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/lead-problem-920/

and that lead to a ruling…

the lead problem here is to know what would players lead without the X.
Feb. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
deleted wrong place
Feb. 1, 2016
Franck Guerrero edited this comment Feb. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bet you are.
FWIW, opponents are helgemo-helness in the latest french national division finals
Feb. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed, there is some difference during cardplay though, as sometimes you are not able to fully see dummy - and/or opps cards) because of the screen, even if you are a “proper” kib (at least, with the screens that are in use over here…).
Jan. 25, 2016
Franck Guerrero edited this comment Jan. 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
perhaps it is the job of the director to make an inquiry in order to know who has broken tempo.
I suspect breaking tempo on purpose to get an adjusted board is illegal and will lead to a penalty for the hesitating side
Jan. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
perhaps, it's a separate trolling forum we just need
Jan. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe it's time to open a WTF or a “Who cares” part in BW forums where we could find some of the most all time interesting polls such as:
“Most silly poll on BW”
“Most stupid american male (female) bridge pro”
“American male pro Biggest balls”
“American female pro Biggest breast ”

(this list is not exhaustive)
Jan. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good judgment, partner's hand is:
xxxxx
x
QJx
AKQx

s are 6-0, even 5 may go down
Nov. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That was my view too.

See http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/ethics-and-ruling-poll/ for the full story.
Nov. 26, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top