Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Graham Osborne
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, when NT have been bid naturally I play 4NT discouraging. The advantage of playing the other way round when NT have not been bid is if s are agreed that there is room to cue or make a last train effort.
Dec. 10, 2016
Graham Osborne edited this comment Dec. 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my methods partner would be able to bid 4NT over 4 to show a good 5minor bid
Dec. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since when has playing 1NT at love all been a bad idea?
Nov. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard , stop making your problems so tough. Did you get this ‘problem’ from Rohit's book of beginners bidding?
Nov. 13, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eric that test is only valid if you believe the purpose in opening the bidding on a balanced minimum is to make sure you don't miss 3NT. I don't. I might bid 1 pass 1NT and the 1NT bidder may have a hand that I would have also opened 1 on. It belongs to the same archaic philosphy that you need six points to respond to an opening bid to make sure you don't miss a game.

On the actual hand , I suppose if you are blinkered enough not to open you might pass 3 but the combination of the opponents lack of bidding and maybe looking at your hand during the second round of the auction will swiftly lead you to the conclusion that game is very likely to be desirable, probably 3NT but maybe 5.
Nov. 13, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Trust me. Unfortunately, I bid most hands far worse than this one.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I avoid this pitfall by sitting South
June 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the point is that on one of my better days even I might think of overtaking the D T with J to cash the HK if west ducks trick two.
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Strongly disagree with the initial double with a one-suited hand.
March 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East needed a perfecto 3 bid for slam to be on 2 aces and the trump queen. West would surely drive with that hand after 4 so 6 over 5 is too much.
July 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not sure I understand why this is a problem. 3 is not necessarily a slam try so why should I want to move on?
March 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double and convert 4 to 4 seems pretty routine
Jan. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I really don't see the need to pre-balance on this sort of hand, we have less than ideal shape and a King possibly of marginal value. I expect partner to balance if the auction dies with a suitable three card spade holding such as xxx or Axx.
Dec. 6, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am not sure why you find it so incredible. GIBS do not use AI they use simulation. GIBs do not look at or remember signals. The 3NT rebid shows solid s so with its circuit boards smoking looking at KQTxxx it manages to find the lead. It doesn't then reason that the fact the declarer doesn't have solid means the bid cannot be relied upon at all.
Equally the other hand when in with A does not reason that no one would lead an unsupported K into a long suit, but both GIBS ‘know’ that declarer has fewer than four so that looks like a good suit to go after.

Take one of my favourite GIB hands as an example from an IMPs tournament.
You (a GIB open) 1NT with AQJT9 Jx Kxx Axx and the bidding proceeds double all pass
dummy has a useful collection of Kxx xxx AJxx xxx

The doubler cashed six s from the top, and now I have to admit the hand is within my compass as a declarer. But GIB demonstrates its point counting skills, a double shows 16+ points so it knows the Q is onside. So GIB wins the K switch and take a first round hook of the J for -1400.


Nov. 20, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
rebidding keycard over 3 is wrong, you should check for a singleton first, if partner has one the k is irrelevant
Nov. 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sadly I have not learnt from the remarkably similar hand and auction from a couple of minutes ago
Nov. 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Depends on your exact agreements after a reverse. I play 3 as weakest; 4 next strongest and 4 as even stronger . The sixth spade is worth quite a lot.
Nov. 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 is to help us judge if they bid 4. It might be a weakish hand interested in saving but it could also be a strong hand, so sure it is forcing.
Aug. 29, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'll treat it as a two-suiter and start with 2NT and pull 3C to 3D and hope for the best.
Aug. 26, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play double for penalties here and make that call, the most likely scenario is that you tell declarer how to play trumps for one down rather than two down undoubled and no net gain, on a bad day you score -790 instead of +100.
Aug. 24, 2014
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top