Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jeff Roman
1 2 3 4 5 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Elopement is when the kids schedule the wedding during an NABC and Dad slips them a wad of cash and tells them to elope. (True story) :)
Nov. 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
100% onboard with Marion’s OP.

#saynotocheats
Sept. 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is a very tough problem. Partner could have an obvious penalty double and we still could belong in 6 or 7 diamonds. In my regular partnerships, since pass would be forcing (and if I were then to x, it would amount to a shrug) we play that this x is a serious desire to penalize, so I’m passing.
Sept. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thx, Leigh. If you see someone who knows him, maybe ask them to call him and tell him I’m trying to contact him? Thanks again. :)
July 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can see Jeff Rubens reporting on this hand: “The auction was conducted in a haze of optimism…”

I agree with 3h (S has “positive key cards”), but S should bid 3nt over 3s. N gets slightly more of the blame for not bidding 4h over 4c.
July 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Me too…but I would open 4s before I passed.
July 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wouldn’t x 5h, but West’s initial pass is not my idea of bridge. Partnership style is always an important consideration. The more hands we’ve played together, and the more discussions we’ve had let us look at that hand and instead of thinking “what should I do?”, think “what does my partner expect me to do?” It’s difficult to imagine that partner wants you to pass.
July 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Like Jorge Luna’s comment above, I also compare bridge and golf to people. The point I try to make pertains to how to maximize your enjoyment from bridge. For myself, I love both bridge and golf. Long ago, I decided I wanted to be the best bridge player I could be. So I studied, and played, and played, and studied, and 45 years later I still play and study. Golf? LOVE it, but I mean…practice? HAHAHAHA…nope. If I’m in the middle of the fairway with an 8-iron in my hands, I don’t want to know I can knock it stiff because I pounded 500 8-irons yesterday, I just want to see if I can do it THIS time. Sure, the answer is usually no, but I realize I haven’t earned the right to get upset or frustrated about it, so there’s fun in trying and extra fun when I manage to hit a good shot.
July 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry, the body of this post got left off somehow. I’m trying to contact Hugh Grosvenor. Could someone please ask him to email me, or message me on BW.

Thank you!
July 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was a 1d opening bid for me for 40 years…and then I opened 1d with a similar collection playing with my dear friend Huub Bertens. It’s not that anything terrible happened, but he looked at me with that pained expression…I knew what was coming… “STOOpid American…” lol :) I’m a 1c opener now, and I would rebid 2c. I just always get buried when I rebid 1nt with a small singleton in partner’s M.
July 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If bidding a 3cd M here is, as the Chief TD said “…quite common”, and that is in fact the partnership agreement, these factors lend great weight to evil intent on declarer’s part. One’s responses to questions about alerts in basic situations become robotic, i.e., “puppet to 2d” or “artificial game force” or “shows 3+”.
June 20, 2018
Jeff Roman edited this comment June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thx Kit. Well said. I absolutely understand that this is how our rules are, it’s not at all clear to me that they should be. To my case above (where N announces HIS hand instead of his perception of partner’s hand) I offer this: It goes 1h - p - 2h - p - p - ? Now this player has a light balance. We all understand the odds, we’re all animals in this situation…but THIS guy’s partner broke tempo over 2h. Poll? Sure, poll all you want. People will balance, no question. But the bridge risk doesn’t exist for this guy…he KNOWS he needs to get in there.
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, don’t know if you saw this, put the OP said (a few boxes above) that N offered “5 to 7, any” gratuitously with his alert. He wasn’t asked.
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lemme put the arithmetic a different way: If instead of the gratuitous “5 to 7 any” North had instead offered “Alert. I don’t know what it means but I have 20 balanced, so I’m bidding 3nt”…would we still be taking polls? Because that’s essentially what happened.
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Andy. If you think of something relevant to say, be sure to share. This is different from a BiT, where polling helps determine if a player gets to make the decision they made…this player was told point blank that they needed to keep bidding.
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I previously stated, it is my view that once “5 to 7” comes out of North’s mouth, 3nt ends the auction, period. What I AM curious about is now that we understand that N did in fact say that out loud, do people still think a poll is appropriate? My feeling is that it is no longer relevant. If we were to stipulate that S had no idea what x showed when he did it or where he was going after that, and even if we were to find plenty of his peers that decided to bid over 3nt…THIS player knew for absolute CERTAIN that he needed to bid more, AND he knew it because of UI. Doesn’t that end this discussion?
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My point is that if N said “5-7 any” out loud, it no longer matters what S thought was happening…he is simply (nearly) barred. “Nearly” because if he had a 7 or 8 card major, or some huge number of hcps (where the moment partner opens 1c we’re in slam) or something extreme along those lines, then he might be permitted to bid over 3nt.
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve, suppose that N, when asked about the meaning of x, said “balanced, exactly 4-4 in the majors, 11-13hcps” and then bid 3nt. Would you invite slam?
June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This one seems pretty clearcut to me…if N said “5-7 any” (prompted or gratuitously), then 3nt ends the auction. If no mention of the meaning of x until after the auction, result stands. The problem with Kit’s proposed poll is that S’s knowledge or lack of knowledge about his x is irrelevant once N describes his understanding and jumps to 3nt. Now it’s “opposite 5-7, I wanna declare 3nt”. A side issue in this particular case…I take a VERY dim view of not knowing what our bids mean in routine situations in 1st rounds of auctions. You simply can’t agree to play Precision and not know what it means when we x after they overcall. What!? They overcalled?! Inconceivable!!
June 14, 2018
Jeff Roman edited this comment June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, not only would I pass 100% of the time in such a situation, I personally believe that such bids get rolled back by definition. An invitation was issued and partner declined it. You’re done, end of story. So you understand the depth of my feelings in this matter, in this particular case the issue is UI from the failure to alert 3c. Suppose instead partner alerted 3c, got asked, and said “well, it’s a mixed raise of spades. I’m gonna sign off, but if he has club values, I’d like him to bid game”. In my view of bridge, bidding 4s there and bidding 4s after partner fails to alert 3c are exactly the same.
June 13, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6
.

Bottom Home Top