Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Larkin
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
MH: which bid is the “puppet”; the 2S or the 3c response.
And which bid is the “puppet”, by your definition, in puppet stayman?
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IN SCotland, would be alerted and explained as “transfer to minors”… which I think is OK.
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or/and maybe a systems thing.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An interesting concept.
I had always assumed that plays became more and more careless until eventually it was not “normal”. E.g. If you have AQ and declarer plays the king, you play the ace. Playing the Queen would not be normal.
But i see how you might do it through carelessness…so not as simple as I thought.
Certainly I feel that the Laws saying normal includes inferior or careless plays does not mean that it includes ALL inferior and careless plays. That would suggest it's any legal play no matter how rubbish. And I don't think that is what is meant.
Looks like it was an add-on that didn't quite get it unambiguously right (that's TWO now…)
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's over-compensating to make them penalty cards. Declarer could “force them to play” them in a silly order; playing the queen under his king before playing the ace on the next trick.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Don't play like that again,” Tom said repeatedly.

“I'm playing the jack.”
“So I'll play the Queen.”
“And I'll play the King.”
“And here's the Ace.”
They all said, sequentially.
Sept. 21
John Larkin edited this comment Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ER: two comments up. I am not convinced that not calling the TD is tacit agreement that UI has been passed. Is it not simply an agreement that there has been a break in tempo, without an absolutism that UI was passed?

Edited to say that now I see a “may” that “may” change things.
Sept. 20
John Larkin edited this comment Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
HBS: N is not close to an overcall….for first overcall?….
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems a bit……… harsh
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi. It was indeed “facetious”, but not with any malignant intent.
So thanks.
3 Double
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1 No.
2 Pass
3 Difficult to answer. Is partner's entire hand AI or UI?
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe that's just a good rule for a very strong player.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am giving a chat on “AI and UI” to the relative Newbies week after next.
Not sure if will go down well…
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah, but they made their point without appearing vindictive. And got the desired result.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What if you told them, “ OK…so maybe you should call the director so we can establish that. Otherwise if we later ask him if the hesitation might have given us a bad result, he will assume that you did hesitate, because the weird rules are written that way”? (Not saying the Laws are weird, just that this keeps us all pals in an anti-rules moment). Then, if they still don't call, say you understand some people don't like to call TD, so you will do it for their benefit.
Sept. 20
John Larkin edited this comment Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think if you gently call the TD as correctly suggested above, there is a good chance TD will ask East the thinking behind their bid, and East will reply that partner took some time to pass, so I know knowthey have some points and it will be safe for me to bid.
So everyone will know they're not bad chaps/chapesses and a little bit of explanation may go a long way.
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
NF: perhaps, like me, you took a while to realise the OP refers to West's FIRST pass as dealer.
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“I think you may have missed a safety play,”… maybe?
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“I have all the tricks,” claimed Tom.
“You only have five,” Tom countered.
“Tom's right; there's a strip and throw-in,” leered Tom.
“We prefer to call it an end-play,” finished Tom.
“Sorry you guys, I think they're all supposed to end adverbally,” said Tom belatedly.
“Why are all of your family called Tom?” Asked Jim, unrelatedly.
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“There is evidence that (that) might not have happened” is probably not enough to overturn the precept “any doubtful point…shall be resolved against the claimer”
Otherwise any defender could make a claim based on “partner might get it right”.
Sept. 18
.

Bottom Home Top