Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Miller
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is Gazzilli spelled with two z's? Did I display my ignorance in my OP?
Dec. 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I posted this response, the auction was 1 - 1 - 1. If the OP mis-entered the auction he wants, he will get an incoherent discussion.
Dec. 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, we may be relieved of the obligation to show three spades, but the distinction between three and four spades may be quite useful, especially as the next call may be 3
Dec. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Judy,

I fully understand your unique position with regards to Avon's research. You have been fortunate to have been married to two of bridge's greats, whose integrity and accomplishments certainly command my greatest respect. While I am not in a position to judge the specifics, I have no doubt that Norman's and Bobby's sixth sense in these matters is accurate. Making this effort to retrospectively clean the record is an important way our generation of bridge players can honor those who came before us.

I think I may relate a story publicly about Norman that I have told you privately in the past. Some early January in the mid 1980's I had plans to come to the Philadelphia sectional to play with Richard Popper, who had just moved to Wilmington. Right before I was to come up I severely sprained my right ankle playing basketball and could not drive. Fortunately Robin was coming up for the weekend and offered to drive me back and forth. On Sunday we won the Swiss and I stayed that night in Wilmington at Richard's house. (In those days, winning a sectional Swiss was much more meaningful.) Early the next morning the phone rang and after answering it, Richard handed it to me. It was Norman calling to congratulate me on the win. You can imagine how special that was for a twenty-something kid to get a congratulatory call from Norman Kay.
Dec. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Judy, I think John's comment was a simple play on words.
Dec. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lynn, our auction almost completely agreed with yours, but after I made a 3 game try, North bid 3 and partner hit it. At IMPs I'd pull, but at matchpoints? That 200 is pretty tempting.

LOL on the 2 bid over 1. Were they playing intermediate jump overcalls? North's hand was x Ax AJ9xxxx Kxx.
Dec. 7, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We did manage to hold the uptrick. Not that I got any matchpoints for the effort.
Dec. 7, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You did better than we did; we were -670 on the hand.
Dec. 7, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We're getting a little far from the OP here, but Alan's point is the relevant one … with length in OP's suit our presumed shortness is over the opponent's shortness, adding a small margin of safety to bidding. Of course, if we don't have shortness and LHO does, well, now those players from the 1950's will be mocking us.
Dec. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'll take up the debate with Daniel and Debbie. Based upon all the whining about kickback, I think I must be the only bridge player in the world not to have had a disaster with it. And, no, it's not because I don't play it.
Dec. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Simulations suggest an honor from KQ9x is best. Conventionally I lead the Q from that holding.
Dec. 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would lead the Q from KQx or KQJ
Dec. 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was watching the board at the time and wondered if declarer had in fact not unblocked the nine, as sometimes the Vugraph operator misses spots like that, but based upon the subsequent play, he had indeed failed to do so.
Dec. 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Certainly a fetus exists, though might not pass the ”I think therefore I am“ test.”

There are many bridge players who also fail that test. I wager many are playing senior events.
Dec. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2N is underrated as a part-score sacrifice, especially at these colors and form of scoring.
Nov. 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn't grow as well there
Nov. 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Haven't reflected deeply on it, but it seems to work. Very interesting idea.
Nov. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This thread is crystallizing some vague vibes I have felt over the years when I sat down at your table.
Nov. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After a 4 bid showing spade slam positive, 4N is KC. No room over the minor, obviously. You could cuebid over 5 to show interest in a grand. Can't say I've ever regretted not having detailed agreements here other than the meta-agreement.
Nov. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Except that the OP explicitly invited you to pontificate.
Nov. 14, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top