Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Card was face down on the floor at a table in a later round where board no longer would make it's way to me. I saw card on floor and had no idea where the play was at table when I pointed out. I ended up picking up since it was physically easier for me to do which was when I realized declarer was halfway thru.
Dec. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe if the next hand is started revoke cannot be corrected.
Dec. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually asked director after and he could not find anything other than a kibitzer should not point out an irregularity (not sure this would fall into that category or not).
Dec. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've played it a few times with some players who use to play it a lot. They came to conclusion that it is a good idea at imps but not such a good idea at matchpoints.
Dec. 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Professional sports players get suspended for something all the time. Players remaining on am still keep wins and go on to playoffs.
I think in cases where it was found that the players were cheating in an event very easy to remove title from the whole team. ACBL has now added all titles and events in the previous 4 years. Should all teammates of players found guilty in the swiss team reporting a 0-0 tie in previous events have those also removed or since this is believed to be a more likely isolated case than some of the others that have been discovered than that should not count.
Dec. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Except as I understand at last world championship all did not wait to pick up sheets. Yes all results are on a single recap here and available on line but I usually take quick check to verify all results match my private score sheet.
Dec. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So when I go to check my results instead of comparing line for line would I now need to jump around my score sheet to verify or tournament would need to print out a separate sheet for every pair for them o verify as opposed to the sheet that they presently put up that does not get the thorough verification that it deserves presently.
Dec. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They o have 2 sided score sheets but I don't see used vey much. Seems like some don't want to have to carry another set of sheets with them. We have 2 sets of sheets at club. Regular (convention card and score card on other side) and a second sheet that has score card on each side.
Dec. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I told director I thought it was correct ruling after round. Since the alert card was an obvious error I did not believe that I needed to call the director but thought process was out of timing and pulled wrong bid.
Dec. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Aviv, my intention was to double but pulled the alert card. When I went to correct I still intended to double but pulled the 2C card since that was what partner's response to the double was supposed to be. I actually pulled the 2C thinking that would be the response from partner to the double.
Dec. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another one I had I righty opened 1N I intended to pull the double card and accidently pulled the alert card. When lefty pointed out I pulled the 2C bid(which is what my partner should be bidding not me). When director came over I explained in exactly this way and was stuck with my 2C bid which I believe was correct ruling. I immediately pulled the small alert card from the bidding box.
Dec. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had one where I was about to open 1H as the table behind me tapped me on shoulder and asked me to pass a board. I simultaneously called director as I placed a pass card on the table. I explained that I was going to open 1H as I reached for bid and was tapped on shoulder asking me to pass a board which I did and then I passed. Director allowed me to make change but stated I need to be more careful in future.
Dec. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had one at the Nationals where I opened 2D and my left hand opponent bid 2C when we then said insufficient they bid 2H as I was calling director. When director came player stated they intended to bid 3C and was confused and pulled 2H. Director did not look at the players hand.
Hand was
AKJ
AKQxxx
void
AQxxx

Looks like a 2C opener to me(maybe didn't see my 2D opener). Corrected to 2H and then realized that maybe partner would be barred and claimed they meant to bid 3C over 2D and accidently pulled 2H since was confused. I went to director after round and stated I thought he should look at hand before making ruling and he stated he believes what the player tells them and hand is not relevant. Seems like a self serving statement.
Dec. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your top is a top after round 1 in a barometer game or bottom a bottom. Your top after round 2 may be an below average board or vice versa so not sure how valid the data would be in a non barometer game.
Dec. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No mixed Swiss option in Providence so not comparing the same thing. Many teams that played in the mixed swiss would have played the open swiss if mixed not available.
Dec. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Everyone in the final of the 0-10000 fast pairs and the finals of the mixed pairs was playing Friday with the probably next event to enter would be the mixed swiss not able to start on Friday.
Dec. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Parking is $5 per day if staying at Dolphin Hotel or $10 if you get validation ticket at Information desk.
Nov. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When he says “Ruff with the T” you know which card he called from dummy. Why would I know that if there was no trump suit? Why would I not assume I heard incorrectly

If partner says pitch a spade when they have to follow suit dummy typically does not blindly pitch a spade. Or if partner said ruff with the T but had to follow suit I would not blindly grab the trump T from dummy therefore potentially putting my left hand opponent to incorrectly follow suit. When partner tells me to lead from dummy and the lead is not in dummy we tell them where the lead is.

Again in this situation I believe the T should be played but I am not convinced dummy should assume that this is what declarer meant when they said ruff when there is not a trump suit.
Nov. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Art, The issue isn't that there may be some decks that need to be replaced at a NABC. The real issue is the proposal that states: “that the ACBL purchase/use new playing cards in all boards at the beginning of each NABC.”

Though most will agree that some cards are used longer than they should(probably in a swiss more than anywhere else) replacing all decks at the start of the NABC does not seem like a valid solution.
Nov. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Opening lead is JH. Contract is spades
Dummy is
AKxx
AKQxx
Void
Txxx

Declarer states ruff small since they thought a diamond was led. Do we force declarer to play a small heart since he did say low.
Nov. 17, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top