Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
1 2 3 4 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 ... 24 25 26 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Board 20
3N made 3 by N once. Made 100+ times EW with a few EW going down. This looks like scored on incorrect side. For the record I have only looked at boards 1 then 10 and then 20. Sorting on different columns. Lead then results then contract and found errors in all cases. Not all errors will impact results.

This looks like a true error.

The above 3 all from the first Sunday.
Sept. 23, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment Sept. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
10 NS 3♠ 3S E EW ♣2 6 300
10 NS 3♠ 3S S NS ♣K 6 300

Board 10 3 down 3 played by both E and S. May be valid since looking at all the other hands, 3N both ways this may have been an interesting hand.
Sept. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I just pulled up board 1 and sorted by opening lead.
♠6 lead when both E and N declared.
♠A led when both E and W declared.
♠K led when both E and W declared.
♥8 led when both N and E declared.
♦2 led when both N and S declared.
♦3 led when both N and E declared.
♦6 led when both E and N declared.

I cannot tell but do not believe that any results are incorrect. Just shows that people who enter data make lots of errors. Obviously moving declarer from NS to EW is a disaster but E to W or N to S not so bad. Without hand records can't validate.
Sept. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the rules should be changed going forward then they should update the rules accordingly. But the rules that were part of the event should stay as is. In the ACBL world we changed the penalties for revokes and penalty cards (major versus minor). Should we go back to previous events and rescore since the rules have changed. Obviously not but all events going forward are scored this way.
Sept. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Go back to where no score sheets were posted on line so if one did not look when the event ended they would not find days later.
Sept. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes for ACBL my understanding has always been start of next session. Not sure if in some events that may be different if you qualify to next day and they seed field and have carryover's and such.

Although I agree 30 minutes seems short, my understanding in some cases they only had 20 minutes between sessions so not sure time between 20 and 30 could be used to check scores. But this is rules that everyone in event had to follow. Would not surprise me if someone found a scoring error late at night (since not enough time to check between sessions) but did not turn in since they knew it was outside correction period. I certainly would not go to a director after the 2nd session of an event to get a score correction for the 1st session if I did not find in time.
Sept. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because there should be rules. I like pair A they find an issue late I agree and they can play and I am out. I don't like pair B they find an issue late I disagree and they can't play.

A player shouldn't be put in a position where they are asked to either allow or not allow a change after the fact.
Sept. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I find most club players if I waited till before the session a week later to discuss a hand if we really made 2S or 3S they would not remember the hand. Would probably not have a scorecard anymore from the previous week to even discuss a correction.

Although hands that look obvious maybe should have different rules but as of today there is no such rule.
Sept. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg, yes if CoC was a specific time frame to turn in corrections and you waited till after that time to review your results and found an error then yes it is to late. Typically it is no later than the start of the next session. To go back in sessions and ask opponents on what they did 3 days ago ( 6 sessions) when they may have already thrown away score sheet is not realistic. I know in the situations we are seeing it is obvious that it is scored on wrong side (although in some of these obvious cases it maybe should be 4 making instead of 4 making)
Sept. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry Clive did misread.
Sept. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is this about right? No
Is the whole line of thinking silly? Yes
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Clive, I think you assumption that there are not other scoring errors is very flawed. Probably not as obvious to notice when result is scored on incorrect side but I expect there are other errors where a trick may not be scored properly. Here was one that was obvious that the player who it went against did not review why would you believe that everyone else in the event did a proper review.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many times when going over results at club I see obvious errors that are scored on the wrong side. If the next session at the club has not started I send email to directors and they address and fix as required, if another session has started(correction period over) I don't send in anything to club since result is over.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry I expect if you look hard enough you may find an error in qualifying where a different pair should have qualified. Should they replay the finals if this is found or throw out all the results of the pair that should not have qualified or if they happened to place what should occur. I believe there are rules on when updates need to be turned in and when there are no longer any corrections.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play the double before the suit is takeout though not discussed in this particular sequence. I was North and though that double would imply short hearts and expected partner to be short in hearts.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Added hands
Sept. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry reversed EW in poll and don't know how to correct after posting.
Sept. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@ Debbie, I have never ignored so many comments to go lower in thread only to be disappointed since I di not see your follow up.

Seems you were writing your response as I was looking for it.
Sept. 15, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment Sept. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Paul, why 16. I have 3 children 2 are members. The 3rd I do not think it is his game. As stated earlier in thread I would rather pay $72 once a year for household as opposed to 36 + 15 + 15 = 66 I pay today. Having another youth member in the same household(no bulletin) costs ACBL next to nothing and maybe I am wrong and he may enjoy and pick up the game or remember it and play later it life(which I think the real goal of introducing juniors to game.) but ACBL made it too hard for my family so we may never know. Grandparents adding their grandchildren as part of household membership seems like no brainer but again I think ACBL is shortsighted in this area.
Sept. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played against a pair on a Friday in a sectional they opened 1N 12-14 but had 11. If I had an exotic endplay I could have made if I played opener for 2245 11 but opponents said they never open 11. We played 2 boards. Next day they open 1N. We had 29 and got to 3N nothing to play. Next day in teams the only time they opened 1N they had 11 and stated 12-14. Seems if the 3 times they played me in 1 weekend that they had 11 they have agreement that they play 11-14 and should announce it that way.

If I always open 0-4(0-6) or such in 3rd seat then it should be alerted and opponents should know this just like your partner does.
Sept. 12, 2016
1 2 3 4 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 ... 24 25 26 27
.

Bottom Home Top