Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
1 2 3 4 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 ... 24 25 26 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner opened 3C white in 3rd seat. 4th seat asked if anything special. I stated very aggressive 3rd seat white on red and could be a 5 card suit. After hand partner said we did not have that agreement that it could be a 5 card suit. He held a 5 card suit on this hand but stated we don't have an agreement that it can be a 5 card suit. We never discussed it. I stated I played with you enough so I believe we do have that agreement.

I believe if my partner always opened in 3rd seat white on all hands with less than 7 points we would have an agreement even if we did not specifically discuss.
Sept. 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually called also to sign up my 2 children. Asked if I could just get household membership. My understanding not for first year signups. When first year was up I sent email asking to change the 3 of us to a household membership. I received a somewhat rude email response stating that we already received a discount for juniors and I shouldn't be looking for any additional discount. I responded I send you $66 a year in 3 different bills and you send me 3 bulletins. I want to send you $72 per year for household and get 1 bill and 1 bulletin. I was told this was not possible but we could eliminate the bulletins. When I ended up speaking with someone at ACBL and stated I don't want 3 bills a year they stated that they could send me bills by email instead. I stated didn't solve the problem. If I hadn't been a member for 25 years and love the game they almost lost my membership over this.
Sept. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have 2 children in my house. I requested that they only send one bulletin.
Sept. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael I agree but a lot of the consensus was that declarer would wake up and not pitch J when T shows up. I was wondering if they would change now to declarer will stop playing spades and then play diamonds to make contract.
Sept. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Change the scenario where diamonds break and spades do not. Do you allow 5 diamonds, 4 spades and 1 heart making 4 with this claim or does declare lose to T spades, then 3 hearts and Ace of clubs.
Aug. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
KQJxxx
x
KQJxx
x

Sounds like a possible hand by North and I pass as South with the monster since North should bid 5N if we hold all the key cards.
Aug. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Gene,
I was more at the how far back does one assume someone cheated. Some assumptions are that they must have cheated in every event that they played in. I'm for a much harsher punishment for the collusive cheating issues we have recently seen.
Aug. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In that scenario Director should know that 1st place has not clinched as of yet.
Aug. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Though properly not allowed. Give top and bottom team a bye(bottom team gets win) and then 2-3 play a real match. Think everyone is happy with this. When I am in this situation and I dislike the 2nd place team(maybe I will unintentionally of course sit the wrong direction)
Aug. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mike, Your team finished and end up 9 VP ahead of both teams in the lone remaining match. You end up winning the event because they get 0-0. Would you be OK with winning this way. I expect yes since rule is they get 0-0. I expect if rule was something else you should accept that result also.
Aug. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess we should just film all players the first session they ever play and if they didn't cheat in that first session then they will never cheat in the future since if they are ever caught cheating they must have cheated in every event they played in.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Geoff, If a client hires you do you evaluate who he has hired in the past before you would play with them. If they are found out to be cheating with there regular partner at the club later on should you be punished. If you played with any of the players recently involved with the swiss team in Denver should you be punished?
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do all NBOs qualify by teams or do some have a pairs event and top 3 qualify to form a team.
Aug. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That works when the kids do not have bridge playing parents who wouldn't care which days they are but I expect most would not fall in this category(I know mine does) but don't know the full numbers. Along with cost of playing space in hotel on different days when not sure this makes sense.
Aug. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Along with problem when opener has 2-2 in majors what about when 5-4 in majors.
Aug. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Max applaud effort at the table. Was not implying that you did anything wrong. Hope someday I/bridge can get back to where we believe everyone is playing by rules and trying there best on every hand against every opponent.
Aug. 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although I applaud Max for what occurred I do not believe this should be standard in the world of bridge. In the world championships they have teams that may have an interest in the other teams (same zone) result play early. If a team/player later states in an earlier session I acted on UI and therefore score should be adjusted and wow I still qualify to the next round and they do also does not look correct.
Aug. 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where is the outrage. We have a players on multiple teams who intentional turned in an incorrect scorecard. We need to know who knew about this and when.
Aug. 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where is it documented that if you sit in the wrong direction in a swiss event that the score is to be scored as 0 VPs for both teams. I looked thru laws of duplicate bridge and could find nothing related to this.
Aug. 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@David P.
John, if you knew that you had sat in the wrong direction, wouldn't you insist on calling the TD right away?

Yes today I would call tournament Director. However I have 2 children that just started playing. I expect that if they sat wrong direction and I told them that it should be scored as a tie they would believe me and not call director. I would expect that in this scenario I am guilty and should receive some punishment but not sure that they would be guilty of anything(other than having bad role model).

In scenario described in article with level of players I would expect that a minimum of 1 player of each team is guilty of some level of transgression. I am just not convinced that all 10 are guilty and all 10 deserve same punishment.
Aug. 8, 2016
1 2 3 4 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 ... 24 25 26 27
.

Bottom Home Top