Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
1 2 3 4 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 ... 24 25 26 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Melanie, I actually am tournament chair for a Regional. On occasion if I have something to do I tell teammates to compare without me. Yes I will play later match and know results but typically it is result(we won or lost by x) and I don't go over board by board. Sorry to say no different than MP saga where we don't typically go over card by card on what hands where.

When teammate comes back and states we were + 7 instead of +5 I believe them. I correct the opponents when they may make a mistake in this situation and believe the teammates I play with would also but know that this is not true for all players in our game.

Although again in this situation prior to this post I did not know that it was an automatic 0-0 result so if an experienced player told me we were turning in a tie I may have thought nothing wrong with that since we did no plan on sitting incorrect direction.
Aug. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree 2 starting an invitational spade raise.
Aug. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At a regional once I believe it was a team from bracket 5 of 5 brackets(forget exact number of brackets but lowest and top bracket) played a team from bracket 1. Same thing in another match. It was determined that a bracket 1 team sat in the wrong seats and told the bracket 5 team they were incorrect and they sat in the table next to them. When discovered the director rules the bracket 1 team that told bracket 5 team incorrectly lost and both bracket 5 teams moved forward making a 3 way n both events. Seems like correct ruling in this situation although one could argue that all 4 teams were incorrect.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I routinely turn in +33 as a blitz in a 7 board swiss match as opposed to the true higher number since in no way affects anything and do not consider this turning in an incorrect result.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Melanie, what if the teammate said the match you left before comparing ended in a tie. Would you question that or would you ask what happened on each board.

When comparing you win by 2 when your teammate comes back and states when I checked with opponents there was a mistake we won by 3 do you question your teammate are you sure or were you being unethical and excepting the mistake the other team may have made. Do you question your teammates to make sure correction is correct or do you believe them?

Most times I turn ticket into director however sometimes it is not my responsibility. I do not routinely check each result if I am not the one turning in the results. Assignment area is crowded enough without all members of team verifying scores. Sorry to say at end of day I would not go and verify each match result was correct I would believe my teammate was doing the “right” thing. If I did not believe teammate would do “right” thing then I would not be playing with them.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Typically I am there when we score the results. On occasion I tell teammates score it up without me if I need to do something. If I came back and they said we tied unless I clearly thought we blitzed or were blitzed I would probably not ask anything else. Again depending on players on team(although sounds like experienced players). I have 4500+ points but prior to this thread did not know that there was a rule that both teams received 0 victory points.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm actual hoping the actual scorecard turned in is still “saved” somewhere. At most swiss events I play in I turn in win by x, lose by x or tie. I have never turned in the score 12-8 in a swiss match. Not sure if this district turns in results this way or not.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would think that pre dupes in National events(when down to screens and a lot of room between tables makes sense. Playing in a Regional with tables at 45 degrees if all the tables around me are playing the same board 1 as me seems like I would be seeing/hearing some of the opponents hands if I wanted. When table next to me playing different hands would have no meaning for me.
Aug. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I just updated our next regional schedule fro senior pairs to daylight pairs.
July 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Roster's may change on the day of event if approved by director if sickness or such.
July 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually run the caddies at a local tournament and have told some(more experienced in the game) that if it is late in the round(where there should be very few caddie calls) that they should play as dummy as needed. I regularly finish early and often volunteer to turn the cards. I don't see this as a problem as long as players don't require this constantly.
July 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Apologize beforehand

I like to avoid the question at the table
How did you get stuck with Frank.
July 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I usually always ask after the first discard or sometimes later in hand since early on when I asked before start of hand there were a lot more falsecards occurring.
July 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually stated either was fine. Did not think 1C would get passed out and over 2C will know right away playing double negative if partner may have either AC or KS.
July 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I had to bid now in this sequence I would bid 2N however I would have passed 1D. Either opponents have 8 spades between them or partner with 5 spades did not take a call which means very unlikely we are making a game. Take the plus(especially when they are vulnerable) in 1D.
July 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So my partner's hesitations that should not make me bid on when I was going to pass are allowed to make me pass when I was going to bid on??
White on Red you open 1D
1D X 3D 3S
You plan to bid 5D as a sac against their game but sometimes opponents stop in 3 so you pass planning on bidding 5D if they bid game.
P 4S Partner hesitates for some reason so now I must pass??
July 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg stated: “Max, more than a few times, my partner has passed when he might have bid, when I thought too long”

This seems very unethical to me. If my partner hesitates and I believe I was going to bid I believe I am ethically obligated to bid and let ruling go against me if needed.
July 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes I could ruff in either hand but opponent was void in clubs which is suit I would have to cross in to pull the last trump.
July 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1.) Why would I assume clubs is best lead against 3NT with the suit I have. Wouldn't I potentially like a heart lead if that is partner suit.
July 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
True except several players will open 1 with the hand and if I believe partner bid to make then we very likely may have gotten to 3N if I opened 1
July 2, 2016
1 2 3 4 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 ... 24 25 26 27
.

Bottom Home Top