Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm 1 for 2 when I have opened 2 flannery when I actually held diamonds. Lefty had 23 or 24 and they ended in 3N when 6 was cold. Other time partner alerted and bid 2N and I responded ogust(since that is what I thought we would be playing if he had not alerted) and 4 of major was not a success.
April 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John A. If I applied a 50% confidence factor to my partner's bid I would not expect this to be an advantage to my side.
April 29, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment April 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So if declarer had known the 9 of spades was good and claimed stating I have the AK of hearts and the good 9 of spades would some above be stating that they don't win the 9 of spades since they stated ace of hearts before K.
April 28, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've had quite a few with a partner who always bid No trump so we are in 6 N making. When 6 of major makes 7, or 6 down when finesse can be taken in major with no risk but risks contract in Notrump.
April 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expect most would mot be able to repeat exactly what was said, and another group would change it slightly when it would be to their advantage.

I've seen too many examples where opponents state something different from what I just heard or seen.
April 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I called director and let him make decision which was making 2.
April 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe I read somewhere else that rubber bridge laws when a trumps is outstanding opponents can require or forbid lead of trumps. I believe this is best scenario, unless rules updated to either always require a specific line of play, trumps or not trump.s
April 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Had similar situation today. Opponent held JT of diamonds and 13th club. Partner on lead after knocking out high club and opponent claimed. I held a small diamond which could ruff club if he played that after ruffing major suit return. Opponent stated they would obviously play trump first(which they could have played before knocking out high club. They were in 2 diamonds making 2 instead of making 3 and it ended up making no difference in imps but opponents thought that they were taken advantage of. I think I like rubber bridge rule where opponent decide if you pull trump or not,
April 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I was playing this and I thought I had the rest(depending on level of opponents). I would actually cash ace of spades, ruff Q of spades, Q of diamonds and then claim dummy is good. Some opponents can't always fathom a claim and this in some instances would actually be faster so to state this would never happen or be inferior I don't agree with.

Although I would not attempt to force declarer to play spade ace diamond to hand and then T of hearts, I would not think unreasonable to play Ace of spades, then ruff Q.
April 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So if declarer stated, I have good diamonds, ace of spades spade and the last trump would you allow them to make.
April 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We didn't notice a thing: how could we have missed the board placement?

Does this imply you didn't think any board placement existed or as someone watching but did not notice that the boards were being placed improperly.
April 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
void xx kxx kqjxxxxx is in my imagination. not how I would bid but if partner is bidding 3N hoping I have hand that can let him make it isn't my hand a monster.
April 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One could argue if partner had the ten of hearts in the diamond suit asking the question may have given him a better chance of finding it.
April 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After reading the comments it seems that many believe they should bid what the committee would rule they should bid. I agree I expect committee would rule that 3S is a logical alternative. Trying to determine what committee would rule and then bid that bid still seems like you would be changing your call based on partner's UI. Although if you were under the belief that this was a 3 1/2 spaded bid you should bid 3 but again I believe if you always believe you would bid 4 then you should bid 4.

For the comments that state sometimes when you bid 3 it turns out to be correct stated previously

This eliminate the possibility of you getting lucky when the ethical choice (3♠) happens to be a winning one.

This implies to me that you bid 3 since maybe it will be the winning choice and if you bid 4 your score will either be 4 down 1 or 3 making whatever you make.

Playing against a player who states I would have bid 4S but bid 3S since partner gave an incorrect explanation should call director when 3S makes only 3 and explain that is what occurred.
April 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The difference imo is double requests a lower lead. A pass does not always mean do not lead the lower suit.

1S P 2D P
3D P 3S P
4N p 5D

Holding A club card wanting a club lead may not double here since I don't want to defend 5D redoubled. Does not specifically mean don't lead clubs just like in a normal situation a non double of 5D does not mean don't lead diamonds.

When the opponents bid to the 6 level and I do not double do you alert and state does not want me to lead dummy's first bid suit. No since I may want the lead but don't think that will get us to beat the contract.
April 17, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment April 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would not explain that partner did not want a diamond lead when they didn't double a 5D bid.
Also I would assume that typically person not leading explains the leads so they should not explain their bid
April 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My only pure pysch. I picked up xx xx kxx xxxxxx in first seat white on red. Lefty had not pulled out cards yet so I was waiting and I saw righty counting and mouthed 22, then started counting again and mouthed 22. I decided to open 1D and auction proceeded.
1D P 1S X
P 2D P 2S
P 3D X Passed out. I apologized to partner when hand was over
April 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom, I am bidding 4S(3N actually but if forced to bid 3 or 4S only) expecting to be ruled against and have contract rolled back to 3 if it makes. So if 4 doesn't make for some reason and 3 does. I will be in 4 down 1 as opposed to 3 making. If 4 makes I expect to be ruled against and be rolled back to 3 making 4.
Bidding 3 seems to be the best positive matchpoint decision in this situation for my partnership.
April 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems to me you should bid what you think you would have bid without the UI and f there is a ruling so be it. Bidding something different then you believe you would have bid without the UI doesn't seem right to me.
April 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would personally bid 3N. Solid spades and club stopper. If I actually thought this was a 4S rebid I would bid it if I truly believed this is what I would always bid with this hand. If committee ruled against and I would expect they would that is OK.
However all those that now bid 3S and partner passes holding
one of several hands where you can only make 3.
void KQJxxx KQJxxx x or such.
You then explain I would have bid 4 but since I had UI I only bid 3 and see how committee rules here.

Seems like an unethical 3 Spade bid was made since if you bid 4 you would expect committee to roll it back to 3(no matchpoint gain by bidding 4), so you bid 3 and hope it only makes 3 or partner takes another bid.
April 15, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment April 15, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top