Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What about 3N
April 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am sure anyone playing some of the suspected cheats wouldn't want them moving the board. I agree in theory that most efficient makes sense but if you want to set up some rules to minimize the potential of cheating(moving the boards has somewhat been proved to be an issue) then defining someone may make sense.
April 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I usually ask it as declarer when pulling trump and both opponents pitched. After both rudely told me they didn't have any I led to the next trick lefty followed and righty stated oh I do have one. I said to late now.
April 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If rules were changed so that declarer must play most unfavorable line possible then so be it.
April 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Based on Bart's comment then the declaring side moves the tray. Either dummy or declarer. Hopefully one from the pair can do it.
April 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pay attention when declarer's ruff with the ace of trump(first trump played) when they have all the high trump and could have ruffed with a lower card.

When declarer leads to AKQJx in dummy sometimes calls A sometimes calls J sometimes other to make dummy work. When all are equal there is no difference Although I agree holding 95 I would expect the 5 to be played more than 50/50. This is why I believed rules should be modified to force a specific line of play. Although I agree that declarer will not always get it right but I believe they will not always get it wrong.
April 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bid 4H and then actually thought what if partner had double and correct to diamonds. As it was partner was Kx j87x AQTx Axx and when I got an obvious stiff club lead I ended up misplaying since stiff club also had stiff ace of hearts and I assumed they were breaking when they switched to diamond and I played lo ruffing out K but had to lose 3 hearts and a spade.
April 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes we do
April 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So A has to win 2 final matches instead of one. Seems like a bad decision for the A team.
C only now has to win 1 match. Good decision for them.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or give team C an advantage if team B already lost to A.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since we now allow split rulings why not the following except I believe a nightmare when more cards get involved.

Stiff T.

Declarer ruffs(doesn't matter which one in this case)
50% plays trump 1 trick
50% cashes A 2 trick

1.5 tricks

Stiff 6

50% plays 5 opponent overuffs 2 tricks
50% plays 9
25% then plays 5H only 1 trick
25 then plays A 2 tricks

1.75 tricks

Stiff 4

Declarer ruffs(doesn't matter which one in this case)
50% plays trump 3 trick
50% cashes A 2 trick

2.5 tricks
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually my comment should have said rules as I believe they should be and I updated accordingly.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe a new rule where still N-S moves the tray during bidding but whoever is dummy removes at end of auction since dummy can not provide info at this point in time.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing with my son with less than 5 points when I opened 1N 15-17 and he had a balance 20 count bid 6N so to make the self serving statement that Practically no inexperienced or even experienced low level player will ever bid a slam without asking for Aces seems wrong. I also believe in my experience when I have 2 aces and the opponents are in slam they are typically the more inexperienced pair.
April 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe in all these claims declarer should be forced to ruff with 5 and if it holds then play 9H then A diamonds.
So if my call
TH 1 trick since T doesn't overruff
6H 2 tricks
4H 3 tricks.

I believe when you claim in a trump suit you should be forced to play trumps top down when in your hand and ruff low. However many tricks this gives so be it.

Although this is not the case declarer is often forced to play the worst line possible.

so rules as I believe they should be
TH 1 trick since declarer ruffs with 5, opponent doesn't overruff and declarer plays 9H and loses last 2.
6H 2 tricks opponent overruffs 5H although some will argue that declarer will ruff with 9 and then play 5H for 1 trick
4H 2 tricks declarer will ruff and play ace of diamonds.

If rules were such that one must play cards a certain way then at least takes out subjectivity.

In No trump declarer would be required to play the worst suit(based on hands) from the top if they claimed all the tricks.
April 7, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If my partner complains on what I open with this type of hand then I would open 1N with that partner so at least I don't have to put down dummy and postpone having to hear partner's complaint.
April 7, 2016
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not trying to be argumentative but there would never be any ATB then. Typically a partnership has a difference of opinion of who should have done what.

“But more importantly, I assume you (Matt) probably knew 4h wasn't a great bid when you put the poll up.”

I'm sure of this also but I expect his partner may not have agreed. If his partner at end of hand said sorry lost my mind I never should have bid 4H I expect there would be no post.

I actually think the polls that are clear cut in where to ATB are the ones that actually may convince someone that maybe they should have done something else.
April 7, 2016
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Chris, if you were at table as either East or West and at end of hand you thought partner may be incorrect but partner thought you were why would you only publish poll if you were East in this situation and not West.
April 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many years ago in a regional pairs game partner opened a normal 2S in 2nd seat and the opponents got to 6H down 3. They didn't know what to do. Next hand partner opened 2S in first seat with jxxxxx and played 2S double down a ton when it went p p X all pass. I had singleton and AKQTxx was behind. Partner after round explained they didn't know what to do on first board so he bid. I stated they didn't need any help and they may have played 6 spades if left to there own device.
April 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John you say that but unfortunately some players are taught this sequence and don't take auction into account. Playing with a fairly good partner auction was.
2C 2D
2N 3H(transfer)
4S 4N
5D 5S
I passed 5S holding 3 keycards and was told I have to bid slam when I have 3 in the 03 sequence since I could have had 0. Obviously impossible for me to have 0 but players are taught this “rule”.
March 29, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top