Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Term limits on president but not on members of board. Unfortunately many times we don't have enough interest to hold elections.
March 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There should never be a day when a national event is playing where one is not eligible(age, gender or such) where they are not eligible for some other national event.
March 27, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well since AQ of clubs must be off sides and QJx of diamonds with preempter, I play club to King then club toward J pitching 3rd diamond on the good club. Wouldn't find this at table and would try to duck diamond or force left hand to win diamond.
March 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff,
I started playing with my children. We play no alertable calls at the time. When we first started I would ask when opponents alerted trying to teach when one should ask and that one should. I heard about this rule at a director's course and promptly stopped asking when I did not need the info. Yes one may not be able to enforce but I play by the rules.
March 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1C 1H
1N 2S

1C 1H
1N 2C
2D 2S

One should show a fit with partners hand and one should not so that partner can bid 3C to play on a very weak opening bid.

I would have bid 2H instead of 1N
March 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just train your partner to ask questions

Easier said than done. I actually asked this question to a director teaching a director's course and was told you are not allowed to for partner's benefit. I explained I was playing with my son(just beginning) and when at club very few alerts but some. If I know what they are and cannot ask not sure how a new player “learns” to ask if doesn't see it very often.
March 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If partner had alerted 3D I would have alerted 3N. While one could argue they remembered independent of the lack of an alert by partner but by the write up it does not appear that way that the fact that partner did not alert woke me up and I am not entitled to that information so I would continue the auction as a puppet sequence hoping that 3N did not promise 5H(that I play with some partners.

I would expect that 3N would have been self alerted behind screens since I expect the fact that partner did not alert woke you up and I believe you should let opponents know this since they may be injured if you decide to pass 3N with 3 or more hearts.
March 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you could properly prove that the fact that your partner did not alert was not the reason you remembered that you weren't playing puppet then you are correct. However it would be hard to prove that the lack of alert was not the reason you remembered.
March 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The real question is whether or not the fact partner did not alert 3D response helped you to remember you weren't playing puppet. Would you have remembered if you were behind a screen and did not hear or see partner's alert or non alert. Now if 3N rebid by partner just meant not interested without a 5 card major then contract is fine but you may need to let opponents know that you were bidding puppet.
March 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1N - P - 2C P
2D - @S* *
2spades was alerted as showing spades hearts weak. Now why would I not assume hand has 4 hearts and NT bidder has at least 2. When partner pulls club bids to diamonds something isn't right. I have 4 spades so double of 2 spades shouldn't be penalty but I have sympathy when person couldn't get out of their head that opponents had at least 6 hearts.
March 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Joshua analysis is correct and if 4H was bid in tempo would have been OK but player tanked hand motions to each of the bids before bidding 4H. Director ruled since we didn't double 4H we probably wouldn't have doubled 4S. I agreed with that(we had Axx oppo, QtX f spades) but was more concerned if 3 keycards should make some sort of move.
March 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I sat down with a partner and did not discuss what options I have in super accepting in these sequences(bidding doubleton(2N shows doubleton below), 3H min with 4 or 2N max with 4, 2N = max with 3 and so forth with the possible options) I would assume that this was the only super accept available. Therefore would assume it was any range and I would only super accept by bidding 3H.
March 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fill out a recorder form or remember and watch the next time you play them.
Feb. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Opponents held
AKQJxxxx void Ax xx
xx Void Kx AKQJxxxxx

20 tricks in either black suit. I opened 2 hearts and they both quebid hearts along the way getting to 7N. Partner doubled holding AKxxxx of hearts. I would have led a spade if I had one(dummy's first bid suit) but luckily I did not have any so I led Q of hearts down 7.
Feb. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If my partner is truly ethical would he not be required to open with a marginal balance(one that is light that he would have balanced with if you did not hesitate) afraid you may bid an un makable game.
If I believe I would have balanced and partner hesitated then I would still bid my hand the same way. If later committee says I had a logical alternative so be it but changing the call I believe I would have made without the hesitation seems wrong to me.
Feb. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Went to comment and then realized he stated he was consistent thru a session.
Feb. 20, 2016
John Moschella edited this comment Feb. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although I somewhat agree getting a bad score should not award master points. Think of this scenario. 2 clubs. One 20 tables of open players and 10 tables of 0-100. The 10 tables of 0-11 play in a separate event points being given and such. Another club has 20 tables of open and 3 tables of 0-100. These 3 tables play in the open event since not enough for separate event. These 3 tables struggle(probably never break average if field is strong enough). These players you may lose in long run.
Feb. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oren, I believe(not sure though) that the addition of Y is directly related to the increase of Gold rush events. B/C/D used to be up to 3000 in some areas and now gold rush limited to 750. Those above 750 now playing in an X(u to 5000) were left in a poor spot.
Feb. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I originally voted declarer get's all the tricks. However comments have convinced me in this particular case may not be valid.
Feb. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe that if N had 3H and 5D as opposed to 4-4 would have passed 5D based on his belief that it was a COG. I've bid lead directing voids(we had not bid suit yet) and have gotten to play it there when partner thought I was giving choice.
Jan. 28, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top